Cultural Capitals of Canada

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you may request alternative formats by contacting the Department of Canadian Heritage.

The Government of Canada is determined to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of its programs and operations, while returning to fiscal balance to further support jobs and growth. As part of Budget 2012, the Cultural Capitals of Canada component of the Canada Cultural Investment Fund was cancelled. The Cultural Capitals of Canada designations of 2012 were the final communities to receive awards.

Cultural Capitals of Canada was a program to recognize and support Canadian municipalities for special activities that harness the benefits of arts and culture in community life. Forty two communities were recognized as Cultural Capitals of Canada over the lifetime of the program (2003-2012). The Government of Canada recognizes the achievements of the participating communities.