Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Bobsleigh Team

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

OTTAWA, December 16, 2013 - I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the bobsleigh athletes who were named today to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Team.

The athletes named to the 2014 Olympic team are Olympic bronze medal-winning pilot, Lyndon Rush, as well as David Bissett, Lascelles Brown, Neville Wright, Chris Spring, Jesse Lumsden, Cody Sorensen, Ben Coakwell, Justin Kripps, James McNaughton, Tim Randall, Bryan Barnett and Graeme Rinholm. Reigning Olympic women’s champions, Kaillie Humphries and Heather Moyse along with Jenny Ciochetti, and Chelsea Valois were also named to the team. Four athletes, Luke Demetre, Sam Giguere, Emily Baadsvik, and Kate O’Brien, are still vying for the final two positions that will be confirmed in January.

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why our Government is proud to provide continued support for Olympic sports and our Canadian Olympic and athletes who will proudly represent our great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare to represent Canada this coming February in Sochi, Russia. This is an incredible milestone in your sport careers and all Canadians will be cheering for you and your teammates this winter in your pursuit of world-class athletic excellence at the Olympic Winter Games.

Stay Connected


For more information (media only), please contact:

Robert Lynch
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Bal Gosal, P.C., M.P.
Minister of State (Sport)