About Us

Canadian Heritage and Canada's major national cultural institutions play a vital role in the cultural, civic and economic life of Canadians. Arts, culture and heritage represent $49.9 billion in the Canadian economy and over 630,000 jobs across the country in various sectors, such as film and video, broadcasting, music, publishing, archives, performing arts, heritage institutions, festivals and celebrations.

Our vision and mission are centred on engagement and service excellence, celebration and participation. Our mandate and priorities are focused on culture, identity and sport.

What we do

We deliver policies and programs related to broadcasting and interactive media, arts and cultural industries, heritage objects and spaces, official languages, citizenship participation and identity, human rights, Aboriginal Peoples, youth and sport initiatives, as well as national ceremonies and symbols.

How we do it

The Canadian Heritage Portfolio includes the Department, four departmental agencies, ten Crown corporations and one administrative tribunal. The organization structure illustrates how the Department is organized to ensure a place for Canadian voices and perspectives, to support excellence, and to reach Canadians from all walks of life.

À propos de nous

Patrimoine canadien et les principales institutions culturelles nationales du Canada jouent un rôle vital dans la vie culturelle, civique et économique des Canadiens. Les arts, la culture et le patrimoine représentent 49,9 milliards de dollars en activité économique et emploient plus de 630 000 personnes dans tout le pays, dans de nombreux secteurs d'activité, tels que le film et la vidéo, la radiodiffusion, la musique, l'édition, les archives, les arts de la scène, les établissements du patrimoine, les festivals et les célébrations.

Notre vision et notre mission s'appuient sur l'engagement et l’excellence du service, la célébration et la participation. Notre mandat et nos priorités sont orientés sur la culture, l’identité et le sport.

Ce que nous faisons

Nous offrons des politiques et des programmes axés sur la radiodiffusion et les médias interactifs, les arts et les industries culturelles, les objets et les espaces patrimoniaux, les langues officielles, la participation et l’identité des citoyens, les droits de la personne, les Peuples autochtones, les initiatives liées à la jeunesse et au sport, ainsi que sur les cérémonies et les symboles nationaux.

Notre façon de faire

Le portefeuille du Patrimoine canadien est composé du Ministère, de quatre organismes ministériels, dix sociétés d’État et un tribunal administratif. La structure de l’organisation démontre la façon dont le Ministère est organisé pour assurer une place aux opinions et aux points de vue canadiens, favoriser l’excellence et rejoindre les Canadiens issus de toutes les sphères de la société.