Human Rights

 Heading of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms

What we do:

The mission of the Human Rights Program is to promote the awareness, understanding, respect for and enjoyment of human rights in Canada.

To accomplish this, the program undertakes educational and promotional activities involving the public, educators, non-governmental organizations, government departments and others. This includes distributing human rights publications upon request.

The program is also responsible for coordinating discussions with provincial and territorial governments on the ratification and the domestic implementation of international human rights instruments and the preparation of Canada's reports to the United Nations.  

Important Notice:

The Human Rights Program cannot consider complaints concerning individual cases of alleged human rights violations, and cannot give legal advice concerning such cases.

For questions concerning specific instances of possible cases of discriminatory or unequal treatment as defined in the Canadian Human Rights Act, please consult the Canadian Human Rights Commission. For cases arising under provincial or territorial human rights legislation, please consult your provincial or territorial human rights agency.

Droits de la personne

 En-tête de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés

Ce que nous faisons :

Le Programme des droits de la personne a pour mission de promouvoir la sensibilisation, la compréhension, le respect et la jouissance des droits de la personne au Canada.

Dans cette optique, le programme offre des activités éducatives et promotionnelles qui mettent notamment à contribution le public, les éducateurs, les organismes non gouvernementaux et d'autres ministères. Ces activités comprennent également la diffusion de publications au sujet des droits de la personne.

Le programme est également chargé de coordonner les discussions avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux sur la ratification et la mise en œuvre, en territoire canadien, des instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne, de même que la préparation des rapports du Canada aux Nations Unies.

Remarque importante :

Le Programme des droits de la personne ne peut pas examiner les plaintes individuelles de violation présumée des droits de la personne et n'est pas en mesure de donner d'avis juridiques à ce sujet.

Pour toute question concernant des cas précis de traitement éventuellement discriminatoire ou inégal au sens de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, veuillez consulter la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne. Pour les cas visés par la loi provinciale ou territoriale sur les droits de la personne, veuillez consulter l'organisme des droits de la personne de votre province ou territoire.