Cultural Sector Investment Review

Amendments have been brought to the Investment Canada Regulations and they are now into force. For more details on these changes, please consult the Regulations Amending the Investment Canada Regulations.

Please note that as the revised regulations prescribe the collection of additional information, new forms are available below.

Please note that the current thresholds for the review of investments in the cultural sector and the method for calculating those thresholds ($5M in asset value for direct acquisitions and $50M in asset value for indirect acquisitions) are not affected by the changes to the Investment Canada Regulations.

Authority for the review and approval of foreign investments related to cultural industries was transferred to the Minister of Canadian Heritage from the Minister of Industry in June 1999. Proposed new investments that could result in ownership and control of Canadian cultural businesses by foreign investors are the responsibility of Canadian Heritage under the Investment Canada Act and related regulations and guidelines. Such businesses include those involved in the publication, distribution or sale of books, magazines, periodicals, newspapers or music in print or machine readable form. Also covered are those involved in the production, distribution, sale or exhibition of film or video products or audio or video music recordings.

Examen des investissements dans le secteur culturel

Une main tenant un stylo et un document

Le gouvernement du Canada publie un énoncé de politique et des lignes directrices révisées pour les investissements effectués par les sociétés d'État.  Prière de consulter le lien suivant concernant l'annonce et des documents contextuels http://nouvelles.gc.ca/web/article-fra.do?nid=711489.

NOTE: SEUILS D'EXAMEN - Notez que les seuils actuels d'examen des investissements dans le secteur culturel et la méthode de calcul de ceux-ci (5M de dollars d'actifs dans le cas des acquisitions directes et 50M de dollars d'actifs dans le cas des acquisitions indirectes) ne seront pas affectés par les changements proposés au Règlement sur Investissement Canada.

Le pouvoir d'examiner et d'approuver les investissements étrangers liés aux industries culturelles est passé du ministre de l'Industrie au ministre du Patrimoine canadien en juin 1999. Ainsi, le ministère du Patrimoine canadien est responsable d'administrer la Loi sur Investissement Canada, son règlement et ses principes directeurs en ce qui concerne les investissements proposés par les intérêts étrangers qui visent à établir de nouvelles entreprises ou à faire l'acquisition du contrôle d'entreprises culturelles canadiennes. Il s'agit d'entreprises oeuvrant dans les domaines de la publication, de la distribution ou de la vente de livres, de revues, de périodiques, de journaux ou de compositions musicales sous forme imprimée ou assimilable par une machine. Sont également visés les entreprises oeuvrant dans les domaines de la production, de la distribution, de la vente ou de la présentation d'enregistrements de musique audio ou vidéo ou de films ou de matériel vidéo.