Harper Government Supports the Coaching Association of Canada

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

OTTAWA, March 22, 2012 - The Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), today announced that the Government of Canada is providing additional funding to the Coaching Association of Canada.

“Our Government recognizes the important role that coaches play in the Canadian sport system at all levels,” said Minister of State Gosal. “That is why we are proud to provide additional funding to the Coaching Association of Canada so that it can continue to support the development of Canadian coaches from coast to coast to coast.”

This funding will support the “We Are Coaches” program, which recruits, trains, and retains women coaches and learning facilitators at the community sport level. It will also enable translation of new teaching material for the National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP) and support user training and development of online professional development modules for “The Locker,” the new NCCP database.

“Coaches have an incredible impact on athletes at every level, and we truly appreciate the commitment of the Government of Canada to improving the training of coaches and the recruitment of women into coaching roles,” said John Bales, CEO of the Coaching Association of Canada.

The Government of Canada is the single largest contributor to sport in Canada and supports participation and excellence from playground to podium. The Government of Canada is providing an additional contribution of $300,000 to the Coaching Association of Canada through Sport Canada’s Sport Support Program. The total contribution of Sport Canada to the Coaching Association of Canada in 2011–2012 is close to $4.4 million including the additional funding announced today.

Le gouvernement Harper appuie l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

OTTAWA, le 22 mars 2012 - L’honorable Bal Gosal, ministre d’État (Sports), a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada accordait des fonds supplémentaires à l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs.

« Notre gouvernement reconnaît le rôle important que jouent les entraîneurs à tous les échelons de notre système sportif, a déclaré le ministre d’État Gosal. Voilà pourquoi nous sommes fiers d’accorder un financement additionnel à l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs pour qu’elle poursuive le perfectionnement professionnel des entraîneurs de partout au pays. »

Ce financement sera consacré au programme Des entraîneures qui vise le recrutement, la formation et le maintien en poste d’entraîneures et d’instructrices à l’échelle communautaire. Une partie des fonds servira également à la traduction de nouveaux documents pédagogiques du Programme national de certification des entraîneurs, ainsi qu’à l’élaboration de modules de perfectionnement professionnel en ligne et à la formation d’utilisateurs de la nouvelle base de données du Programme, Le casier.

« Les entraîneurs ont une énorme influence sur les athlètes de tous les niveaux, et nous sommes très heureux de cet engagement du gouvernement du Canada visant à améliorer la formation des entraîneurs et le recrutement d’entraîneures », a expliqué M. John Bales, président-directeur général de l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs.

Le gouvernement du Canada est le plus important bailleur de fonds du système sportif canadien et il appuie la participation aux activités sportives et l’excellence, et ce, du terrain de jeu jusqu’au podium. Le gouvernement du Canada a accordé 300 000 dollars supplémentaires à l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs par l’entremise du Programme de soutien au sport de Sport Canada. En tout, Sport Canada a accordé près de 4,4 millions de dollars à l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs pour l’exercice financier 2011-2012, incluant la somme annoncée aujourd’hui.