Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions

Canada is very pleased that the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions entered into force on March 18, 2007, three months after the deposit of the 30th instrument of ratification

The Convention was adopted by an overwhelming majority of Member States at the 33rd Session ofUNESCO General Conference on October 20, 2005.

Canada will continue to play a leadership role internationally to promote the Convention and its implementation.

News Release, December 18, 2006 - Canada's New Government Welcomes the Entering Into Force ofUNESCOConvention on Protection and Promotion of Diversity of Cultural Expressions

News Release, November 23, 2005 - Canada is the first country to accept theUNESCOConvention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions

News Release, October 20, 2005 - Convention on cultural diversity is adopted atUNESCOGeneral Conference

Overview

"…develop a new approach internationally to support the diversity of cultural expression in countries around the world."
(Speech from the Throne, October 1999)

The Government of Canada committed, in October 1999, to pursuing a new international instrument on cultural diversity that would set out clear ground rules to enable Canada and other countries to maintain policies that promote their culture, while respecting the rules governing the international trading system and securing markets for cultural exports. It would also recognize the importance of cultural diversity to international social and economic development.

Since the late nineties, Canada has been at the forefront of promoting the need for an international instrument on cultural diversity. In 2003, Canada played an important role with other key partners in advocating for the development of such an instrument, in the form of an international Convention, at the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). Canada has subsequently contributed actively, over the course of several negotiation sessions at UNESCO, in shaping the text of the Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.

In June 2005, a draft Convention was finalized and presented for adoption at the 33rd Session of UNESCO's General Conference in October 2005.

Canada, promoting the Convention Internationally

Since 1999, Canada has been actively engaged with other countries and in various international fora in encouraging international dialogue on the importance of cultural diversity, as well as the need for an international instrument (i.e. Convention) that would protect and promote cultural diversity. Canada has also contributed to declarations and action plans from the following multilateral fora, which include reference to the social and economic importance of cultural diversity and, in some cases, the need for a Convention.

Canada was also instrumental in establishing in 1998 the International Network on Cultural Policy (INCP), the only existing informal international venue for national ministers responsible for culture to meet on a regular basis. Canada continues to be engaged in the Network's activities. Canadian Heritage supports and contributes to the INCP by: housing the organization's Secretariat - the Liaison Bureau; chairing the INCP's Working Group on Cultural Diversity and Globalization; and participating in the INCP's Contact Group nine member countries who provide direction and leadership to the Network.

In addition to working through various international fora, Canada also works closely with civil society, particularly:

  • The Coalition for Cultural Diversity (CCD), which consists of 38 Canadian national associations in the cultural milieu calling for a Convention on cultural diversity, and encourages the regrouping of sister coalitions in other countries to support a Convention.
  • The Canadian Commission for UNESCO (CCU), an arm's-length organization operating under the aegis of the Canada Council for the Arts. TheCCU has served as a key forum for dialogue between government and civil society. The CCU has a network of approximately 400 members across the country which includes federal departments and agencies, intergovernmental bodies which represent provinces and territories, NGOs, institutions and individual members. TheCCU's mission is much like those outlined by UNESCO for all National Commissions. These bodies form a network within the United Nations system and ensure outreach to and mobilization of civil society partners, as well as relations with parliamentarians and municipalities in support of UNESCO's visibility and programme priorities across all regions.

Negotiating a Convention at UNESCO

In early 2003, a representative group of Ministers of Culture from INCP member countries, including Canada, met with the Director General of UNESCO, who indicated his willingness to launch the process of elaborating a Convention on cultural diversity at UNESCO. In October 2003, the 32nd Session of the General Conference of UNESCO called upon the organization's Director General to submit a preliminary report and a draft Convention on cultural diversity at the next General Conference, in October 2005.

The subsequent development of a Convention text occurred in several stages. First, independent experts met three times, between December 2003 and May 2004, resulting in the completion of a preliminary draft text, which formed the basis for the Director General's preliminary report and draft Convention issued in July 2004. Second, intergovernmental experts met three times, between September 2004 and June 2005, to further develop and refine this preliminary draft Convention.

Canada was an active participant throughout the intergovernmental negotiating process. At the First Session of the Intergovernmental Meeting of Experts, in September 2004, a Canadian was elected as Rapporteur for the intergovernmental process. Following deliberations at the first session, participating UNESCO Member States were invited to submit written comments on the preliminary draft Convention by November 2004. Canada's submission was the product of extensive consultations across federal departments, with provinces and territories, and with civil society. The drafting committee of the intergovernmental experts subsequently prepared a revised draft Convention text in view of comments provided by Member States.

Canada's Written Comments on the Preliminary Report and Preliminary Draft of the Convention on the Protection of the Diversity of Cultural Contents and Artistic Expressions.

At the Second Session of the Intergovernmental Meeting of Experts, in January and February 2005, the Chair of the session was given the mandate to prepare, in partnership with the Rapporteur and the Chair of the Drafting Committee, a further revised draft text reflecting the evolving views of intergovernmental experts. This text was then used as the basis for subsequent negotiations during a Third Session of the Intergovernmental Meeting of Experts which was held in May and June 2005. During deliberations at the third session, Canada played an important role by chairing several informal working groups with a view to achieving consensus on several key articles of the draft Convention. In the end, a broad consensus emerged on a final draft text, with the recommendation that it be presented for adoption at the UNESCO 33rd General Conference in October 2005. To read this final draft text, please click on the link below:

The text of the Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions meets Canada's core objectives: it recognizes the dual nature of cultural goods and services as having both an economic and social value; re-affirms the right of governments to adopt policies to support cultural expression; places this agreement on an equal footing with other treaties while respecting existing obligations. It also recognizes the link between culture and development.

Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles

Le Canada se réjouit du fait que la Convention de l'UNESCO sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles entrait en vigueur le 18 mars 2007, soit trois mois après la date du dépôt du 30e instrument de ratification.

La Convention a été adoptée par une majorité écrasante d'États membres à la 33e Session de la Conférence générale de l'UNESCO le 20 octobre 2005.

Le Canada continuera à jouer son rôle de chef de file international en vue de promouvoir la Convention et sa mise en oeuvre

Communiqué, 18 décembre 2006 - Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada salue l'entrée en vigueur prochaine de la Convention de l'UNESCOsur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles

Communiqué, 23 novembre 2005 - Le Canada est le premier pays à accepter la Convention de l'UNESCOsur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles

Communiqué, 20 octobre 2005 - La Convention sur la diversité culturelle est adoptée à la Conférence générale de l'UNESCO

Vue d'ensemble

« …définir une nouvelle approche internationale pour appuyer la diversité des expressions culturelles dans le monde. » (discours du Trône, octobre 1999)

En octobre 1999, le gouvernement du Canada s'engageait à créer un nouvel instrument international sur la diversité culturelle qui établirait des règles de base claires permettant au Canada et à d'autres pays de maintenir des politiques favorisant la promotion de leur culture tout en respectant les règles du commerce international et en obtenant des marchés d'exportations culturelles. Il reconnaîtrait également l'importance de la diversité culturelle en ce qui concerne le développement socio économique international.

Depuis la fin des années 1990, le Canada a été au premier plan de la promotion du besoin d'un instrument international sur la diversité culturelle. En 2003, le Canada a joué un rôle important, avec d'autres partenaires clés, dans le but de préconiser la création de cet instrument, sous la forme d'une Convention internationale, à l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO). Par la suite, le Canada a contribué activement, au cours de plusieurs séances de négociation à l'UNESCO, à rédiger le texte de la Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles.

En juin 2005, on a mis la dernière main à une ébauche de Convention qui a été soumise aux membres de la 33e Session de la Conférence générale de l'UNESCO en octobre 2005.

Le Canada fait la promotion de la Convention internationale sur la scène mondiale

Depuis 1999, le Canada, avec d'autres pays, a participé activement, à diverses tribunes internationales, à un dialogue sur l'importance de la diversité culturelle et sur le besoin de créer un instrument international (une Convention) qui protégerait et favoriserait cette diversité. Le Canada a également contribué à des déclarations et des plans d'action des forums multilatéraux ci-dessous, qui rappellent notamment l'importance socio économique de la diversité culturelle et, dans certains cas, le besoin d'une Convention.

En 1998, le Canada a également contribué à établir le Réseau international sur la politique culturelle (RIPC), seul lieu de réunion international informel qui rassemble périodiquement les ministres nationaux de divers pays responsables de la culture. Le Canada continue de participer aux activités du Réseau. Patrimoine canadien appuie le RIPC et l'aide: il offre ses locaux au secrétariat de l'organisation - le Bureau de liaison; il préside le Groupe de travail du RIPC sur la diversité culturelle et la mondialisation; et il est membre du Groupe de contact du RIPC, composé de neuf pays membres qui fournissent des orientations et montrent la voie au Réseau.

En plus de collaborer à diverses tribunes internationales, le Canada travaille également en étroite collaboration avec divers secteurs de la société civile, notamment :

  • La Coalition pour la diversité culturelle (CDC), qui regroupe 38 associations nationales canadiennes du milieu culturel en faveur d'une Convention sur la diversité culturelle et qui encourage des regroupements analogues dans d'autres pays.
  • La Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO (CCU), un organisme indépendant opérant sous l'égide du Conseil des Arts du Canada. La CCU sert de tribune aux dialogues entre le gouvernement et la société civile. La CCU a un réseau composé de près de 400 membres à travers le pays, incluant des ministères et des agences fédérales, des organismes intergouvernementaux représentant les provinces et les territoires, des organisations non gouvernementales, des membres institutionnels et individuels. La mission de la CCU est semblable aux autres missions définies par l'UNESCO pour toutes les Commissions nationales. Ces organismes forment un réseau à même le système des Nations Unies et assurent la diffusion et la mobilisation des partenaires de la société civile, autant que les relations avec les parlementaires et les municipalités en appui au rayonnement des priorités de programmes de l'UNESCO à travers toutes les régions.

Négociation d'une Convention à l'UNESCO

Au début de 2003, un groupe représentatif des ministres de la Culture des pays membres du RIPC, dont le Canada, a rencontré le directeur général de l'UNESCO, qui a manifesté son intention de lancer un processus de rédaction d'une Convention sur la diversité culturelle à l'UNESCO. En octobre 2003, les participants à la 32e Session de la Conférence générale de l'UNESCO ont demandé au directeur général de l'organisme de soumettre un rapport préliminaire et un projet de Convention sur la diversité culturelle à la prochaine Conférence générale, en octobre 2005.

La rédaction du texte de la Convention s'est déroulée en plusieurs étapes. Premièrement, des experts indépendants se sont rencontrés à trois reprises, entre décembre 2003 et mai 2004, pour produire un texte préliminaire, qui a constitué la base du rapport préliminaire du directeur général et du projet de Convention publié en juillet 2004. Deuxièmement, des experts intergouvernementaux se sont réunis trois fois, entre septembre 2004 et juin 2005, pour enrichir et préciser ce projet de Convention.

Le Canada a participé activement à tout le processus de négociation intergouvernemental. À l'occasion de la Première session de la réunion intergouvernementale d'experts tenue en septembre 2004, un Canadien a été élu rapporteur du processus intergouvernemental. À la suite de délibérations lors de la première session, les États membres de l'UNESCO participants ont été invités à soumettre leurs commentaires par écrit sur le projet préliminaire de Convention, au plus tard en novembre 2004. Les observations du Canada ont été recueillies à la suite de longues consultations auprès de ministères fédéraux, des provinces et territoires et de divers secteurs de la société civile. Le Comité de rédaction composé d'experts intergouvernementaux a ensuite préparé un projet révisé de Convention compte tenu des observations fournies par les États membres.

Commentaires écrits du Canada sur le rapport préliminaire et l'avant-projet de Convention sur la protection de la diversité des contenus culturels et des expressions artistiques.

À la Deuxième session de la réunion intergouvernementale d'experts, en janvier et février 2005, le président de la session a reçu le mandat de préparer, en collaboration avec le rapporteur et le président du Comité de rédaction, un autre projet de texte révisé tenant compte de l'évolution du point de vue des experts intergouvernementaux. Ce texte a ensuite été utilisé comme base de négociations ultérieures au cours d'une Troisième session de la réunion intergouvernementale d'experts tenue en mai et juin 2005. Pendant les délibérations qui ont eu lieu à cette troisième session, le Canada a joué un rôle d'importance dans la mesure où il a présidé plusieurs groupes de travail informels en vue de dégager un consensus sur plusieurs articles clés du projet de Convention. Finalement, on a obtenu un large consensus sur un projet de texte définitif, qu'on a recommandé de soumettre aux participants à la 33e Conférence générale de l'UNESCO, en octobre 2005. On peut lire ce projet de texte définitif. en cliquant sur le lien ci-dessous :

Le texte de la Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles répond aux objectifs fondamentaux du Canada : il reconnaît que la double nature des biens et des services culturels a une valeur économique et sociale; il confirme de nouveau le droit des gouvernements d'adopter des politiques à l'appui de l'expression culturelle; et il place l'accord sur un pied d'égalité avec les autres traités tout en respectant les obligations existantes. Le texte reconnaît aussi le lien qui existe entre la culture et le développement.