Appointment to the National Gallery of Canada Board of Trustees

GATINEAU, November 6, 2012 - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, today announced the appointment of Marsha Sobey to the National Gallery of Canada Board of Trustees.

“I am very pleased that Ms. Sobey has accepted the invitation to join the Board of Trustees of the National Gallery of Canada,” said Minister Moore. “Her dedication and commitment to the arts and to the community will be of great benefit to the Board and to the Gallery.”

Marsha Sobey, who was born in Nova Scotia, is a former teacher at Wolfville’s Landmark East School, an institution for students with learning disabilities. She has served on boards and committees at a number of organizations, including as Chair of Pace & Leadership Gifts in a $17-million fundraising campaign for the Canadian Cancer Society’s Daffodil Place: The Lodge That Gives, a residence for cancer patients and families who travel for treatment.

Ms. Sobey holds a Bachelor’s degree in Physical Education from Acadia University, a Bachelor of Education degree from Saint Mary’s University, and a Master of Education degree from Mount St. Vincent University.

The National Gallery of Canada is one of the world’s most respected art institutions, renowned for its exceptional collections, respected for its scholarship, and applauded for its unique ability to engage audiences of all ages and all levels of artistic knowledge.

Nomination au conseil d’administration du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

GATINEAU (Québec), le 6 novembre 2012 - L’honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Marsha Sobey au conseil d’administration du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

« Je suis très heureux que Mme Sobey ait accepté de siéger au conseil d’administration du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, a déclaré le ministre Moore. Son dévouement et son engagement envers les arts et la communauté seront de précieux atouts pour le conseil d’administration. »

Originaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Mme Marsha Sobey a enseigné à l’école Landmark East de Wolfville, une école pour les enfants ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage. Elle a siégé à différents comités et conseils d’administration. Elle a notamment été la présidente de la campagne de financement de 17 millions de dollars Pace & Leadership Gifts pour la Daffodil Place : The Lodge That Gives de la Société canadienne du cancer. Il s’agit d’une résidence pour les personnes atteintes de cancer et leur famille qui doivent se déplacer pour suivre un traitement.

Mme Sobey a un baccalauréat en éducation physique de l’Université Acadia, un baccalauréat en éducation de l’Université Saint Mary’s et une maîtrise en éducation de l’Université Mount St. Vincent.

Le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada est l’un des établissements d’art les plus respectés au monde. Il est réputé pour la qualité exceptionnelle de ses collections, respecté pour son érudition et reconnu pour sa capacité hors pair d’attirer des visiteurs de tout âge, quelles que soient leurs connaissances artistiques.