The United Nations Human Rights System

History

"[The United Nations] was designed to promote international cooperation among sovereign states in which each would give up some of its sovereignty in the common interest of all nations to promote peace, security, economic development, social justice and fundamental human rights and freedoms."

- The Canadian Encyclopedia

At the very birth of the United Nations at the San Francisco Conference of 1945, a proposal was put forward to embody a declaration on human rights in the United Nations Charter. In 1946, the Human Rights Commission of the United Nations was established, and the UN General Assembly began consideration of a draft Declaration of Fundamental Human Rights and Freedoms.

A Drafting Committee composed of Commission members from eight States was struck to prepare two documents: one, a "Declaration", which would set forth general principles or standards of human rights, and two, a "Covenant" or "Convention", which would define specific rights and their limitations. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights was subsequently adopted by the UN General Assembly on December 10, 1948, as the first of the planned human rights documents. The Universal Declaration was considered to constitute an international "standard of achievement for all peoples and nations". In the following years, work continued on the drafting of the first of several legally binding instruments that would cover a broad range of civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights. These instruments would specify how human rights standards were to be implemented by participating states ("States Parties"), and would require States Parties to submit periodic reports on their actions.

The first of the human rights conventions to be opened for signature by the UN General Assembly was the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (1965), which marked a milestone in the long struggle against apartheid and all other forms of racism. Soon thereafter, the General Assembly adopted the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, both on December 16, 1966. At the same time, the General Assembly adopted the Optional Protocol on Civil and Political Rights, which provided for an international mechanism to deal with complaints from individuals claiming to be victims of violations of the rights set forth in that Covenant.

Further legally-binding international human rights instruments have been created over the decades which further expand upon and develop the basic principles outlined in the Universal Declaration. These are: the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (1979), the Convention against Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (1984), the Convention on the Rights of the Child (1989) and the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (2006). Canada is a party to all seven of the covenants and conventions named.

Human Rights Reporting

Each international human rights covenant or convention requires States Parties to submit periodic reports on the State's progress on implementing its provisions. For each covenant or convention, a special UN committee has been set up to review the reports. Once reports are submitted to the appropriate UN committee, the latter schedules a review of the report. Reports may be reviewed from a few months to a year after they are submitted, depending on the committee's schedule.

The formal review of a particular country report may last from one to three days and takes place in the presence of a delegation from the reporting country. The committee may ask questions of the delegation, hear additional information that the delegation may wish to present, and generally engage in discussion with the delegation on the substance of the report and related issues.

Following the review, UN Committees issue "Concluding Observations" that summarize the Committee's evaluation of the country's progress in implementation, and may make recommendations and suggestions as to further measures which the country might take. The Concluding Observations are not considered binding in international law, but are considered "authoritative", that is, carrying considerable moral obligation and weight. States are expected to take follow-up measures on such recommendations and to address these issues in subsequent reports.

It is understood that the reports, while they are to be as accurate and as objective as possible, present each government's own self-assessment of its progress in promoting human rights. While governments are encouraged to be attentive to, and to stimulate, wide-ranging public discussion of human rights issues, it is understood that States' reports cannot represent all sides and all possible shades of opinion on issues open to interpretation and debate.

Consequently, in the interval between submission and review, UN Committee members may, as part of their study of a given report, take steps to gather additional information from other sources, such as communications and presentations by non-governmental organizations working in the human rights field. In recent years, UN Committees have shown increasing interest in such alternate sources of information as a counterbalance and complement to governmental sources, and as a means of stimulating discussion.

United Nations Human Rights Mechanisms

In addition to the committees specifically created under the covenants and conventions mentioned above, a number of other mechanisms have been created by the United Nations to oversee various aspects of human rights issues. The main mechanisms are briefly described here.

The High Commissioner for Human Rights: As of 15 September 1997, the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights and the Centre for Human Rights have been consolidated into a single Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), tasked with coordinating human rights throughout the UN system. The United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights Web site contains extensive information on the HCHR office and its functions, a helpful organization chart of UN Human Rights structures, an extensive archive of UN documents and treaties, and information on current international human rights developments, activities and news.

The General Assembly of the United Nations, made up of all Member States, has as one of its functions to carry out studies and make recommendations for the purpose of promoting the realization of human rights and fundamental freedoms (Article 13 of the United Nations Charter). It normally meets from September to mid-December of each year. Most items concerning human rights which are on the agenda of the General Assembly are referred to the Assembly's Third Committee, which deals with social, humanitarian and cultural matters.

The Economic and Social Council of the United Nations may "make recommendations for the purpose of promoting respect for, and observance of, human rights and fundamental freedoms for all". The Council, composed of 54 members representing as many States Parties, is empowered to make arrangements to obtain reports on the steps taken to give effect to its own recommendations and to recommendations of the General Assembly relevant to the Council's area of competence. The Council usually has three regular sessions each year and may hold further special sessions.

The Human Rights Council

The Commission on the Status of Women was established in 1946. It makes reports and recommendations to the Economic and Social Council on the promotion of women's rights, and on urgent problems requiring immediate attention in the field of women's rights and the equality of rights of men and women. It is made up of representatives of 32 members elected by the Council for four years, and meets every two years for a session of three weeks.

For detailed information on these and other UN human rights institutions, consult the

United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights Web site.

Le Système des droits de la personne des nations unies

Historique

« L'Organisation des Nations Unies a été conçue en vue de promouvoir une forme de coopération entre les États souverains selon laquelle chacun rendrait une partie de sa souveraineté dans l'intérêt commun de toutes les nations, afin de promouvoir la paix, la sécurité, le développement économique, la justice sociale et les droits et libertés fondamentaux. »

- Encyclopédie canadienne

À la naissance même des Nations Unies, lors de la conférence de San Francisco en 1945, il a été proposé d'enchâsser une déclaration des droits de l'homme dans la Charte des Nations Unies. En 1946, la Commission des droits de l'homme des Nations Unies voyait le jour et l'Assemblée générale de l'ONU commençait à étudier un projet de déclaration des droits et libertés fondamentaux de l'homme.

Un comité de rédaction formé de membres de la Commission originaires de huit États fut mis sur pied pour préparer deux documents : l'un, une "déclaration", qui énoncerait les grands principes ou normes des droits de l'homme et l'autre, "un pacte" ou "une convention", qui définirait des droits précis et leurs limitations. La Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme fut par la suite adoptée par l'Assemblée générale de l'ONU, le 10 décembre 1948, comme premier des documents à venir sur les droits de l'homme. La Déclaration universelle était considérée comme « l'idéal commun à atteindre par tous les peuples et toutes les nations ». Dans les années suivantes, l'on continua à travailler à la rédaction du premier d'une série d'instruments à caractère obligatoire qui engloberaient un vaste éventail de droits civils, politiques, économiques, sociaux et culturels. Ces instruments préciseraient de quelle manière les États participants (les « États parties ») devraient appliquer les normes en matière de droits de la personne et exigeraient des États parties qu'ils rendent périodiquement compte de leurs actions.

La première des conventions relatives aux droits de la personne que l'Assemblée générale de l'ONU ait ouvert à la signature fut la Convention internationale sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination raciale (1965), laquelle marquait une étape clé dans le long combat contre l'apartheid et toutes les autres formes de racisme. Peu après, l'Assemblée générale adoptait le Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques et le Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels, tous deux le 16 décembre 1966. En même temps, l'Assemblée générale adoptait le Protocole international relatif aux droits civils et politiques, où était prévu un mécanisme international de traitement des plaintes en provenance de particuliers se disant victimes de violation des droits énoncés dans le pacte.

D'autres instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne, ayant force obligatoire, ont été créés au fil des ans. Ces instruments précisent et étoffent davantage les principes fondamentaux énoncés dans la Déclaration universelle. Ce sont : la Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes (1979), la Convention contre la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants (1984), la Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant (1989) et la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (2006). Le Canada est partie à chacun des sept pactes et conventions mentionnés.

Les rapports sur les droits de la personne

Chaque pacte ou convention international relatif aux droits de la personne exige des États parties qu'ils rendent périodiquement compte des progrès de la mise en œuvre de leurs dispositions sur leur territoire. Pour chaque pacte ou convention, un comité spécial de l'ONU a été mis sur pied pour examiner les rapports. Une fois le rapport soumis au comité compétent de l'ONU, celui-ci fixe une date pour en faire l'examen. Les rapports peuvent être examinés dans un délai de quelques mois à un an après avoir été soumis, selon la charge de travail du comité.

L'examen officiel du rapport d'un pays donné peut durer de un à trois jours et se déroule en présence d'une délégation du pays d'où il émane. Le comité peut poser des questions à la délégation, entendre les renseignements complémentaires que la délégation peut vouloir présenter et, d'une manière générale, entamer des discussions avec la délégation sur le fond du rapport et sur des questions connexes.

Au terme de l'examen, les comités de l'ONU émettent des « Conclusions et observations » qui résument leur évaluation des progrès du pays dans la mise en œuvre et ils peuvent faire des recommandations et des suggestions quant aux autres mesures que le pays pourrait prendre. Les Conclusions et observations n'ont pas force obligatoire en droit international, mais elles « font autorité », c'est-à-dire qu'elles ont beaucoup de poids et créent une obligation sur le plan moral. Les États sont censés prendre des mesures dans la foulée de ces recommandations et aborder ces questions dans les rapports subséquents.

Il est entendu que les rapports, tout en devant être aussi exacts et aussi objectifs que possible, présentent l'évaluation que chaque gouvernement fait de ses propres progrès dans la promotion des droits de la personne. Bien que les gouvernements soient encouragés à susciter de vastes débats publics sur les questions de droits de la personne, il est entendu que leurs rapports ne peuvent rendre compte de tous les points de vue et de toutes les nuances d'opinion possibles sur les questions ouvertes aux interprétations et aux débats.

Par conséquent, dans l'intervalle entre la présentation et l'examen, les membres des comités de l'ONU peuvent, dans le cadre de leur étude d'un rapport donné, prendre des mesures pour puiser des renseignements complémentaires à d'autres sources, telles les communications et les présentations d'organismes non gouvernementaux œuvrant dans le domaine des droits de la personne. Ces dernières années, les comités de l'ONU ont manifesté un intérêt grandissant pour ces autres sources de renseignements comme contrepoids et complément aux sources gouvernementales et comme moyen de stimuler les discussions.

Les mécanismes des droits de la personne des Nations Unies

En plus des comités spécialement créés en vertu des pactes et des conventions susmentionnés, les Nations Unies ont prévu un certain nombre d'autres mécanismes pour surveiller divers aspects des questions de droits de la personne. Suit une brève description des principaux mécanismes.

Le Haut commissariat aux droits de l'homme : Depuis le 15 septembre 1997, l'ancien Haut commissariat aux droits de l'homme et le Centre des Nations Unies pour les droits de l'homme (à Genève) ont été réunis en un seul Haut commissariat aux droits de l'homme (HCADH), chargé de coordonner les droits de l'homme dans l'ensemble du système onusien. Le site 3W du Haut commissariat aux droits de l'homme renferme une grande quantité d'information sur le HCADH et ses fonctions, un très utile organigramme des structures des Nations Unies en matière des droits de l'homme, une importante archive de traités et documents de l'ONU, et des informations sur l'actualité en matière de droits de l'homme sur le plan international.

L'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, qui est formée de tous les États membres, a notamment pour fonction de mener des études et de faire des recommandations en vue de faciliter la jouissance des droits de l'homme et des libertés fondamentales (article 13 de la Charte des Nations Unies). Elle siège normalement de septembre à la mi-décembre de chaque année. La plupart des questions inscrites à l'ordre du jour de l'Assemblée générale en matière de droits de l'homme sont renvoyées à la Troisième Commission de l'Assemblée qui s'occupe des questions sociales, humanitaires et culturelles.

Le Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies peut « faire des recommandations en vue d'assurer le respect effectif des droits de l'homme et des libertés fondamentales pour tous ». Composé de 54 membres représentant autant d'États parties, le Conseil est habilité à prendre des dispositions afin de recevoir des rapports sur les mesures prises en exécution de ses propres recommandations et des recommandations de l'Assemblée générale sur des objets relevant de la compétence du Conseil. En règle générale, le Conseil se réunit trois fois l'an en session ordinaire. Il peut aussi tenir des sessions extraordinaires.

Le Conseil des droits de l'homme

La Commission de la condition de la femme a été créée en 1946. Elle présente des rapports et des recommandations au Conseil économique et social sur la promotion des droits de la femme et sur les problèmes urgents nécessitant une attention immédiate dans le domaine des droits de la femme et de l'égalité de droits entre l'homme et la femme. Composée des représentants de 32 États membres élus par le Conseil pour une durée de quatre ans, elle se réunit tous les deux ans pour une session de trois semaines.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les structures onusiennes en matière de droits de l'homme et leurs fonctions, consultez le site Web du Haut commissariat aux droits de l'homme des Nations Unies.