How Canada Works with the United Nations

History

Since the foundation of the United Nations (UN), Canada has been firmly committed to the promotion of human rights within Canada and in the world. It has been said that UN conventions do not legislate rights, but recognize them and build upon them, principally by using moral suasion, education and public opinion. In this light, countries with good human rights records, like Canada, have a special responsibility: to contribute to this worldwide effort, not only by constantly affirming and protecting the rights of their own people, but by being seen to do so.

In the decades following the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (1948), Canada's domestic and international human rights policies have been closely intermeshed, as evidenced by the support given by Canada internally and externally to international human rights instruments of the United Nations.

Canada is a party to the seven principal United Nations human rights conventions and covenants. Upon ratifying each of these instruments, Canada agreed to implement them, to monitor implementation and to report periodically to the UN. Following is a brief description of how these functions are carried out.

International Instruments and the Federal System

Under Canada's federal constitution, powers are divided among federal, provincial and territorial governments, each of which has the power to legislate upon matters that directly affect various aspects of human rights. This division of powers must be taken into account in the ratification and implementation by Canada of international human rights treaties and in reporting on them.

According to Canada's constitution, the federal government has the exclusive power to ratify international treaties. Legally, the federal government does not need the agreement or approval of any other jurisdiction in order to proceed to such ratification. However, the federal government does not have the power to legislate in matters of provincial jurisdiction in order to fulfill any international obligations that it may have undertaken. In other words, the federal government cannot use the signing of an international convention as a way of impinging on provincial or territorial powers. Provinces and territories must cooperate willingly in the implementation of treaties and conventions. Consequently, full participation in international instruments requires that the federal, provincial and territorial governments work closely together at all stages, from the preparatory work preceding ratification, and on to subsequent implementation and periodic reporting.

Federal-provincial-territorial cooperation was facilitated in 1975 by a Federal-Provincial Conference of Ministers Responsible for Human Rights. The assembled ministers formally agreed (December 12, 1975) to establish procedures for ratification, implementation and reporting on international human rights instruments. Among the main provisions of the agreement were:

  • that federal, provincial and territorial governments would undertake consultations prior to the ratification or denunciation by Canada of any international human rights instrument;

  • that each provincial and territorial government would have the right to prepare its own report on its human rights activities; these provincial and territorial contributions, in addition to the federal government's own section, would constitute Canada's reports. The federal government, acting in concert with the provinces, would continue to have the overall responsibility for the presentation of reports to the United Nations;

  • that provinces and territories could, if so desired, have a representative as part of any Canadian delegation to an international meeting on Canada's reports, notably to UN meetings in which Canada's reports are reviewed;

  • that, in the event of criticism by an international body of a provincial or territorial law or institution, provinces and territories could, in consultation with the federal government and other provinces and territories, have the opportunity to explain and defend its law or institutions; and,

  • that provinces and territories would be kept regularly informed of international developments in human rights that could be of concern to their jurisdiction.

Mechanisms

The 1975 agreement provided for the periodic holding of ministerial conferences on human rights to exchange information and to discuss issues of interest. To ensure continuity, the agreement also provided for the creation of a federal-provincial-territorial Continuing Committee of Officials on Human Rights, to meet regularly (currently twice yearly) as a permanent mechanism for coordination and collaboration regarding the ratification and the domestic implementation of international human rights instruments.

The Committee's mandate, which was amended in 1988, is to:

  • encourage information exchange among governments in Canada with respect to the interpretation and implementation of international human rights instruments and related programs;

  • facilitate the preparation of reports on the implementation of international human rights instruments as required by these instruments, as well as others reports requested by the United Nations;

  • provide views, when possible and where appropriate, with respect to the development of Canada's positions on international human rights issues;

  • encourage research on issues related to the development and implementation of international human rights instruments; and,

  • participate in the preparation and follow-up of ministerial conferences on human rights.

The Committee, as a whole, can make recommendations to ministers responsible for human rights, but does not make commitments for any government. Federal, provincial and territorial officials represent their governments on the Committee and report to their respective ministers.

The Human Rights Program acts as the permanent secretariat for the Continuing Committee and as the main governmental information-exchange gateway between the international and the domestic human rights scenes, and between the federal, provincial and territorial governments.

Comment le Canada travaille avec les nation unies

Historique

Depuis la fondation de l'Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), le Canada s'applique résolument à promouvoir les droits de la personne sur son territoire et dans le monde. Les conventions de l'ONU n'édictent pas de droits, mais en reconnaissent l'existence et veillent à leur respect principalement par la voie de la persuasion, de l'éducation et de l'opinion publique. Dans cette optique, les pays démontrant une bonne tradition de respect des droits de la personne, tel le Canada, ont une responsabilité particulière de contribuer à cet effort mondial, non seulement en affirmant et en protégeant constamment les droits de leurs propres citoyens, mais également en étant perçus comme le faisant.

Dans les décennies qui ont suivi l'adoption de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme (1948), les politiques internes du Canada et les politiques internationales en matière de droits de la personne ont été étroitement liées. Cela se démontre par l'appui apporté par le Canada, tant sur la scène intérieure que mondiale, aux instruments internationaux des Nations Unies dans le domaine des droits de la personne.

Le Canada a ratifié les sept principaux pactes et conventions des Nations Unies relatifs aux droits de la personne et s'est engagé à les mettre en œuvre, à en surveiller l'application et à remettre périodiquement des rapports à l'ONU à leur sujet. Une brève description de la façon dont ces fonctions sont acquittées suit.

Les instruments internationaux et le système fédéral

En vertu de la constitution fédérale du Canada, les pouvoirs sont répartis entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, chacun d'entre eux ayant le pouvoir de légiférer sur des questions touchant directement différents aspects des droits de la personne. Cette répartition des pouvoirs doit entrer en ligne de compte lorsque le Canada ratifie et met en œuvre les traités internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne et remet des rapports à leur sujet.

Selon la constitution du Canada, le gouvernement fédéral a le pouvoir exclusif de ratifier les traités internationaux. Légalement il n'a pas besoin de l'assentiment ou de l'approbation d'autres paliers gouvernementaux pour procéder à une telle ratification. Cependant, le gouvernement fédéral n'a pas le pouvoir de légiférer dans les domaines de compétence provinciale et territoriale pour s'acquitter d'obligations qu'il aurait contractées sur la scène internationale. En d'autres termes, le gouvernement fédéral ne peut pas profiter de la signature d'une convention internationale pour empiéter sur les pouvoirs provinciaux ou territoriaux. Les provinces et les territoires doivent collaborer de plein gré à la mise en œuvre des traités et des conventions. Par conséquent, la pleine participation aux instruments internationaux exige que les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux travaillent en étroite collaboration à tous les stades, depuis les travaux préparatoires à la ratification jusqu'à la mise en œuvre ultérieure et à la présentation des rapports périodiques.

En 1975, la coopération entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux a été facilitée par la tenue d'une conférence fédérale, provinciale et territoriale des ministres responsables des droits de la personne. Cette assemblée de ministres a accepté formellement (le 12 décembre 1975) d'établir les procédures pour la ratification, la mise en œuvre et la préparation de rapports sur les instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne. Voici quelques-unes des principales clauses de l'entente :

  • les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux procéderont à des consultations avant la ratification ou la dénonciation par le Canada de tout instrument international relatif aux droits de la personne;

  • chaque gouvernement provincial ou territorial aura le droit de rédiger son propre rapport sur ses activités en matière de droits de la personne; la somme de ces contributions provinciales et territoriales, et la contribution du gouvernement fédéral, constituera le rapport du Canada. Le gouvernement fédéral, agissant de concert avec les provinces, conservera la responsabilité de présenter les rapports aux Nations Unies;

  • les provinces et les territoires pourront, s'ils le désirent, avoir un représentant au sein de toute délégation canadienne à une réunion internationale sur les rapports du Canada, notamment aux réunions de l'ONU où les rapports du Canada sont examinés;

  • les provinces et les territoires pourront, dans l'éventualité de critiques de la part d'un organisme international d'une loi ou d'une institution provincial ou territorial, et en consultation avec le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements des autres provinces et territoires, avoir l'occasion d'expliquer et de défendre cette loi ou institution; et,

  • les provinces et les territoires seront tenus au courant des développements internationaux susceptibles d'intéresser leur juridiction dans le domaine des droits de la personne.

Mécanismes

L'entente de 1975 prévoyait la tenue périodique de conférences ministérielles sur les droits de la personne afin d'échanger de l'information et de discuter de questions d'intérêt commun. Pour assurer la continuité, l'entente prévoyait également la création d'un comité fédéral-provincial-territorial permanent de fonctionnaires, qui se réunirait régulièrement (actuellement, deux fois l'an). Ce comité serait un mécanisme permanent de coordination et de collaboration concernant l'application, en territoire canadien, des instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne.

Le mandat du comité, amendé en 1988, est de:

  • favoriser l'échange de l'information entre les gouvernements au Canada relativement à l'interprétation et à la mise en application des instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne et des programmes qui s'y rapportent;

  • faciliter la préparation des rapports sur la mise en œuvre des instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne, tels que requis par ces instruments ainsi que des autres rapports requis par les Nations Unies;

  • fournir, lorsque possible et approprié, ses vues touchant le développement des positions du Canada sur les questions internationales relatives aux droits de la personne;

  • encourager la recherche sur les questions liées à l'élaboration et à l'application des instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne; et,

  • participer à la préparation et au suivi des conférences ministérielles sur les droits de la personne.

Le Comité peut faire des recommandations aux ministres responsables mais il ne peut pas prendre d'engagements au nom d'aucun gouvernement. Les représentants fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux représentent leurs gouvernements au sein du Comité et se rapportent à leurs ministres respectifs.

Le Programme des droits de la personne agit en tant que secrétariat permanent du Comité permanent et centre gouvernemental principal d'échange d'information entre le Canada et l'étranger dans le domaine des droits de la personne et entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux.