Federal institutions having specific official languages responsibilities

Department of Justice
The Department of Justice was responsible for developing the 1988 Official Languages Act and works closely with the Treasury Board. The Minister of Justice retains general responsibility for the Act and works closely with the Treasury Board and the Department of the Canadian Heritage. The major role of the Department is to advise the government on official-language issues relating to law, legislation and legal policy, and to prepare the government's position in litigation involving official-language rights. The Department also has special responsibilities with respect to the administration of justice in both official languages.

Department of Justice
Justice Building
239 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario
KlA 0H8
(613) 957-4222
http://canada.justice.gc.ca

Treasury Board Secretariat
The Treasury Board Secretariat is a central agency responsible for the development and coordination of federal policies and programs relating to communication with and service to the public, language of work and equitable participation of English-and French-speaking Canadians in the federal public service.

Treasury Board Secretariat
L'Esplanade Laurier
140 O'Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
KlA 0R5
(613) 957-2400
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca

Department of Canadian Heritage
The Department of Canadian Heritage has been given responsibility for coordinating the federal government's commitment to helping official-language minority communities by supporting various groups working for these communities, and by facilitating the contributions of other federal departments and agencies to their development.

The Department also concludes official languages agreements with the provinces and territories to provide schooling to members of the official-language minority communities in their own language, increased opportunities for everyone to learn English or French as a second language, and services in English and French in regions of Canada where these minorities are found.

The Department of Canadian Heritage helps promote English and French in Canadian society by providing support to various groups that help recognize and put into practice the use of both official languages or create understanding and dialogue between the English- and French-speaking communities of Canada.

Department Canadian Heritage
Jules Léger Building
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
15 Eddy St.
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0M5
Tel:(819) 994-0943 
Fax:(819) 953-6580
http://www.pch.gc.ca

Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
It is the duty of the Commissioner of Official Languages to ensure that federal institutions comply with the spirit and intent of the Act. The Commissioner's main role is that of a linguistic ombudsman to receive and investigate complaints against federal institutions about their duties in the area of official languages. The Commissioner may also take action on his or her own initiative.

The Commissioner regularly conducts investigations within federal institutions and makes reports and recommendations to them as well as to the government and to Parliament.

Commissioner of Official Languages
344 Slater Street, 3rd Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
KlA 0T8
(613) 996-6368
http://www.ocol-clo.gc.ca

Federal Court of Canada
The Act provides the public with a right to seek a remedy before the Federal Court of Canada if federal institutions do not comply with certain rights and duties, including those concerning service to the public. A complaint is first filed with the Commissioner of Official Languages. If the complainant is not satisfied with the results of the Commissioner's investigation, or if the results of the Commissioner's investigation are not communicated within six months of filing the complaint, he or she may then apply to the Federal Court for a remedy.

With the complainant's consent, the Commissioner may apply to the Federal Court for a remedy, appear before the Court on behalf of the complainant, or, with the Court's permission, intervene as a party.

If, after having heard the case, the Court rules that the federal institution concerned has not complied with the Act, the Court may order whatever remedy it considers appropriate and just in the circumstances.

Federal Court of Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0H9
http://www.cmf.gc.ca/en/cf

The Public Service Commission of Canada
The Public Service Commission is a central agency that is responsible for the administration of the Public Service Employment Act. The Commission promotes the equitable representation of both official-language groups and is responsible for the provision of language training in English or French to public servants.

Public Service Commission of Canada
L'Esplanade Laurier
300 Laurier Avenue West, West Tower
Ottawa, Ontario
KlA 0M7
(613) 995-5010
http://www.psc-cfp.gc.ca

Senate Standing Joint Committee on Official Languages

House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages (LANG)

Departments, agencies and Crown corporations
All federal institutions are subject to the Act, and in particular, to those parts dealing with service to the public, language of work and equitable participation of English- and French-speaking Canadians in federal institutions. They must implement the official languages policies and programs of the Treasury Board Secretariat. Each department signs an agreement with the Treasury Board Secretariat on the planning and management of its responsibilities pertaining to official languages.

Interdepartmental Coordination

Ministères et organismes fédéraux ayant des responsabilités particulières en matière de langues officielles

Ministère de la Justice
Le ministère de Ia Justice a été chargé de l'élaboration de Ia Loi sur les langues officielles de 1988. La responsabilité globale de cette loi continue à relever du ministre de la Justice. Le rôle du ministère de la Justice consiste principalement à conseiller le gouvernement sur les questions juridiques ayant trait au statut et à l'usage des langues officielles, et de formuler Ia position du gouvernement dans les litiges impliquant des droits linguistiques. Le Ministère a également des responsabilités particulières en ce qui concerne l'administration de la justice dans les deux langues officielles et travaille en collaboration avec le Conseil du Trésor et le ministère du Patrimoine canadien.

Ministère de la Justice
Immeuble Justice
239, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)
KlA 0H8
(613) 957-4222
http://canada.justice.gc.ca

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor
Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor est un organisme central chargé de l'élaboration et de la coordination des politiques et des programmes fédéraux en ce qui a trait aux communications, au service au public, à Ia langue de travail et à la participation équitable des francophones et des anglophones au sein de la fonction publique fédérale.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor
L'Esplanade Laurier
140, rue O'Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0R5
(613) 957-2400
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca

Ministère du Patrimoine canadien
Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien est chargé de la coordination de l'engagement fédéral en ce qui a trait à l'appui aux minorités francophones et anglophones, notamment en appuyant les activités de divers organismes oeuvrant dans ces communautés, ou en facilitant I'apport de divers ministères ou organismes fédéraux à ce développement.

Il conclut aussi des ententes avec les provinces et les territoires afin de favoriser l'éducation dans la langue des minorités francophones et anglophones, l'enseignement du français et de l'anglais comme langues secondes et la prestation de services en français et en anglais dans les régions du Canada où se trouvent ces minorités.

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien contribue également à la promotion du français et de l'anglais dans Ia société canadienne en appuyant différents organismes qui reconnaissent ou favorisent l'usage des deux langues et cherchent à promouvoir la compréhension et le dialogue entre les deux grandes communautés linguistiques au pays.

Ministère du Patrimoine canadien
Immeuble Jules-Léger
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
15, rue Eddy
Hull, (Québec)
KlA 0M5
Tél. : (819) 994-0943
Téléc. : (819) 953-6580
http://www.pch.gc.ca

Commissariat aux langues officielles
Le Commissaire aux langues officielles est chargé de veiller à ce que les ministères et organismes fédéraux respectent l'intention et l'esprit de la loi dans l'administration de leurs affaires. Le Commissaire exerce surtout un rôle d'ombudsman linguistique chargé de recevoir des plaintes et de procéder à des enquêtes auprès des institutions fédérales relativement à leurs obligations en matière de langues officielles. Il peut agir de sa propre initiative ou suite à une plainte.

Le Commissaire mène régulièrement des enquêtes auprès des organismes fédéraux; il soumet des rapports et formule des recommandations aux organismes concernés, au gouvernement et au Parlement.

Commissariat aux langues officielles
344, rue Slater, 3e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
KlA 0T8
(613) 996-6368
http://www.ocol-clo.gc.ca

Cour fédérale du Canada
La loi prévoit un recours judiciaire pour le public auprès de la Cour fédérale du Canada si certains droits et obligations, notamment en matière de services au public, ne sont pas respectés par un organisme fédéral. Le plaignant doit d'abord déposer une plainte auprès du Commissaire aux langues officielles.

Si le plaignant demeure insatisfait des conclusions de l'enquête du Commissaire, ou si les conclusions de l'enquête du Commissaire ne lui sont pas communiquées dans les six mois suivant le dépôt de la plainte, il peut s'adresser à la Cour fédérale pour obtenir réparation. Le Commissaire peut exercer lui-même le recours devant la Cour fédérale si le plaignant y consent, s'y présenter au nom de celui-ci, ou comparaître, avec l'autorisation de la Cour, comme partie à l'instance.

Si, après avoir entendu l'affaire, Ia Cour estime que l'organisme fédéral en question ne s'est pas conformé à Ia loi, la Cour peut accorder la réparation qu'elle estime convenable et juste selon les circonstances.

Cour fédérale du Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0H9
http://www.cmf.gc.ca/en/cf

Commission de la fonction publique du Canada
La Commission de la fonction publique du Canada est un organisme central chargé de l'application de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique. Elle s'efforce d'assurer la représentation équitable des deux groupes de langue officielle. Elle est également chargée d'offrir aux fonctionnaires des cours de langues en français et en anglais.

Commission de la fonction publique
L'Esplanade Laurier
300, av. Laurier Ouest, Tour Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)
KlA 0M7
(613) 996-5010
http://www.psc-cfp.gc.ca

Comité permanent des langues officielles du Sénat

Comité permanent des langues officielles (LANG) de la Chambre des communes

Ministères, organismes et sociétés d'` État
Les ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État sont soumis à Ia loi, et particulièrement aux dispositions de la loi relatives aux services au public, à la langue de travail et à Ia participation équitable des francophones et des anglophones au sein de la fonction publique. Il appartient aux ministères, aux sociétés d'État et autres organismes fédéraux de respecter les dispositions de la loi et de ses règlements. Les ministères concluent des ententes avec le Conseil du Trésor concernant la planification et la gestion de leurs responsabilités en matière de langues officielles.

Concertation interministérielle