The Canadian Sport Policy 2012

The Canadian Sport Policy 2012 sets a direction for the period 2012-2022 for all governments, institutions and organizations committed to realizing the positive impacts of sport on individuals, communities and society. 

The 2012 Policy builds on the success of the 2002 version, the first-ever intergovernmental policy for sport, which was endorsed by the Federal, Provincial/Territorial (F-P/T) Ministers responsible for sport in Iqaluit, Nunavut, in April 2002.  The 2002 version provided a pan-Canadian vision and framework for sport and formed the basis for the Government of Canada’s Physical Activity and Sport Act (2003).

Sport Canada worked in collaboration with provincial/territorial governments and sport sector leaders in carrying out the CSP Renewal Process over the period 2010-12.  This included an unprecedented level of consultations with the Canadian public, government officials, sport stakeholders, and representatives of related sectors at the local, community, provincial/territorial, and national levels.

These consultations encompassed more than 50 in-person meetings across Canada, including outreach to specific groups such as women, persons with a disability, Aboriginal people, ethno-cultural communities, and official language minority communities.  An E-Survey also resulted in more than 3,300 responses from more than 800 organizations and 2,500 individuals.

The Canadian Sport Policy 2012 was endorsed by Federal, Provincial and Territorial Ministers responsible for sport, physical activity and recreation, including Canada’s Minister of State (Sport), in Inuvik, North West Territories, on June 27, 2012.

A desired outcome of Canadian Sport Policy 2012 is that both the number and diversity of Canadians participating in sport will increase over the timeframe of 2012-2022.  CSP 2012 sets out 5 broad objectives:

  • INTRODUCTION TO SPORT:  Canadians have the fundamental skills, knowledge and attitudes to participate in organized and unorganized sport.
  • RECREATIONAL SPORT:  Canadians have the opportunity to participate in sport for fun, health, social interaction and relaxation.
  • COMPETITIVE SPORT:  Canadians have the opportunity to systematically improve and measure their performance against others in competition in a safe and ethical manner.
  • HIGH PERFORMANCE SPORT:  Canadians are systematically achieving world-class results at the highest levels of international competition through fair and ethical means.
  • SPORT FOR DEVELOPMENT:  Sport is used as a tool for social and economic development, and the promotion of positive values at home and abroad.

Read the full text of the Canadian Sport Policy 2012 on the Sport Information Resource Centre Web site.

Archived Versions of the 2002 version are also available on our Web site in HTML and PDF Format 

Note:

To access the PDF (Portable Document Format) version you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet:

To take advantage of PDF features:

  • Save the PDF form on your computer;
  • Open the file with your PDF reader;
  • Complete the form; and
  • Save it again once filled.

It is not recommended to open a PDF form within your browser. Some browsers use plugins by default to view the PDF which may not work properly with fillable PDF forms.

Please note that all saveable and fillable PDF forms posted on this Web site are created using Adobe® authoring tools. It is therefore recommended that you use the Adobe Reader®, version 9 or higher, for best results.

La Politique canadienne du sport 2012

La Politique canadienne du sport 2012 établit l’orientation à adopter de 2012 à 2022 par l’ensemble des gouvernements, institutions et organismes du Canada qui se sont engagés à soutenir l’incidence positive du sport sur les personnes, les collectivités et la société.

La Politique de 2012 s’appuie sur le succès de la version de 2002, la toute première politique intergouvernementale du sport, qui avait été endossée à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, en avril 2002, par les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables du sport. La version de 2002 présentait une vision et une structure pancanadiennes du sport et a constitué le fondement de la Loi sur l'activité physique et le sport (2003) du gouvernement du Canada.

Sport Canada a travaillé en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux/territoriaux et les dirigeants du secteur des sports pour mettre en œuvre le processus de renouvellement de la PCS, de 2010 à 2012. Cette démarche comprenait un niveau de consultation sans précédent de la population canadienne, de représentants des gouvernements, d’intervenants du milieu sportif et de représentants des secteurs connexes à l’échelle locale, communautaire, provinciale/territoriale et nationale.

Au cours de ce processus de consultation, plus de 50 rencontres ont été tenues dans l’ensemble du pays, y compris avec des groupes ciblés tels que les femmes, les personnes ayant un handicap, les Autochtones, les communautés ethnoculturelles et les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Un sondage en ligne a aussi suscité plus de 3 300 réponses de plus de 800 organisations et 2 500 personnes.

La Politique canadienne du sport 2012 a été approuvée par les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables du sport, de l’activité physique et du loisir, notamment le ministre d’État (Sports), à Inuvik, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le 27 juin 2012.

Parmi les résultats attendus de la Politique canadienne du sport 2012 figure la hausse du nombre et de la diversité des Canadiens qui participent à des activités sportives, entre 2012 et 2022. La PCS 2012 établit cinq grands objectifs :

  • L’initiation à la pratique du sport – Les Canadiens possèdent les habiletés fondamentales, les connaissances et les attitudes essentielles à une pratique sportive organisée ou non.
  • Le sport récréatif – Les Canadiens ont la possibilité de faire du sport pour le plaisir, la santé, l’interaction sociale ou la détente.
  • Le sport compétitif – Les Canadiens ont la possibilité de s’améliorer continuellement et de se mesurer à d’autres athlètes dans un contexte sécuritaire et éthique.
  • Le sport de haut niveau – Les athlètes canadiens obtiennent systématiquement d’excellents résultats dans le cadre de compétitions internationales de haut niveau, et ce, de manière juste et éthique.
  • Le sport pour le développement – Le sport est mis à profit pour favoriser le développement économique et social et promouvoir des valeurs positives sur la scène nationale et internationale.

Lire le texte complet de la Politique canadienne du sport 2012 sur le site Web du Centre de documentation pour le sport.

Les versions archivées de la Politique canadienne du sport 2002 sont aussi disponibles sur notre site Web en format HTML et PDF.

Note :

Pour consulter la version en format PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF installé sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, plusieurs lecteurs peuvent être téléchargés gratuitement ou achetés sur Internet :

Pour profiter des avantages qu'offre le format PDF :

  • sauvegardez le formulaire sur votre ordinateur;
  • ouvrez le document avec votre lecteur PDF;
  • remplissez le formulaire;
  • sauvegardez-le une fois rempli.

Il n’est pas recommandé d’ouvrir un formulaire PDF directement à partir de votre navigateur; certains utilisent des modules d’extension (plugins) par défaut pour lire les PDF, ce qui pourrait causer des ennuis au moment d’entrer les données dans le formulaire PDF.