Triennial Procurement Strategy

Fiscal Years 2011-2012 to 2013-2014

About Canadian Heritage

The Department of Canadian Heritage (the Department) and Canada’s major national cultural institutions play a vital role in the cultural, civic and economic life of Canadians. We work together to support culture, the arts, heritage, official languages, citizenship and participation, Aboriginal, youth, and sport initiatives.

The Department of Canadian Heritage is responsible for policies and the delivery of programs that help all Canadians participate in their shared cultural and civic life. The Department’s legislative mandate is set out in the Department of Canadian Heritage Act and in other statutes for which the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages is responsible, which presents a wide-ranging list of responsibilities for the Minister under the heading of “Canadian identity and values, cultural development, and heritage.”

The Department of Canadian Heritage is specifically responsible for formulating and implementing cultural policies related to copyright, foreign investment and broadcasting, as well as policies related to arts, culture, heritage, official languages, sport, state ceremonial and protocol, and Canadian symbols. The Department’s main program activities are the funding of community and third-party organizations to promote the benefits of culture, identity, and sport for Canadians.

The Canadian Heritage Portfolio consists of the Department, including two special operating agencies, the Canadian Conservation Institute and the Canadian Heritage Information Network, as well as: five departmental agencies, ten Crown corporations, one administrative tribunal, and four organizations active in human resources which report to Parliament through the Minister.

Strategic Procurement’s relative importance is best illustrated when recognizing how strategic procurement can influence the bottom-line.

About PCH Procurement

The Contracting and Materiel Management Directorate (CMMD) has functional responsibility for procurement requirements across PCH and focuses on managing assets and procurement activities in accordance with a suite of Treasury Board policy instruments and government-wide procurement initiatives. Please note that it does not process procurement requirements for the five departmental Agencies, the ten Crown corporations and the one Administrative tribunal.

CMMD’s objective is twofold and reflects the four principles of Modern Comptrollership (integrated performance information, sound risk management, rigorous stewardship, and values and ethics):

  1. to manage materiel in a sustainable and financially responsible manner that supports cost-effective and efficient delivery of departmental programs, and
  2. to acquire goods and services in a manner that enhances access, competition and fairness and results in best value or, if appropriate, the optimal balance of overall benefits to the Crown and the Canadian people.

These objectives set the foundation of our procurement principles. 

Canadian Heritage uses approved methods of soliciting bids and awarding contracts as outlined under the Government Contracts Regulations, the Treasury Board’s Contracting Policy as well as applicable trade agreements:

  • MERX (the government’s electronic bidding system);
  • Standing Offers and Supply Arrangements;
  • Traditional competitive method in which at least three firms are directly invited to submit proposals;
  • Non-competitively (sole source);
  • The Acquisition Card (credit card).

PCH’s contracting delegation is similar to that of most departments:

PCH’s Contracting Delegation
Canadian Heritage($000s)
Electronic BiddingCompetitiveNon-Competitive
EntryAmend-
ments
EntryAmend-
ments
EntryAmend-
ments
Service Contract

2,000

1,000

400

200

100

50

Good Contract

-

-

-

-

25

25

Construction Contract

400

200

400

200

40

40

Over these amounts, contractual requirements are processed through Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC).  We also have the option to request approval from the Treasury Board.

Since fiscal year 2008-09, PCH contracted on average $50M worth of goods and services annually in support of its programs and initiatives.  These procurement transactions were managed through various purchasing tools (services contracts, purchase orders, acquisition cards, Standing Offers, Supply Arrangements, etc).

All contracting transactions are recorded and processed through an automated system (SAP) and requirements in excess of $10K are processed centrally by the CMMD.  As noted previously, the latter has functional responsibility for contracting within PCH.

In reviewing PCH expenditures since fiscal year 2008-09, the top commodity groups against which contracting activities were undertaken included: engineering services, information technology consultants, business services, maintenance of computer equipment, computer equipment, accounting and audit services.

Our Procurement Strategy

In the context of the Public Service Renewal initiative launched in the 14th annual report to the Prime Minister, the Clerk of the Privy Council identified the integration of business planning as part of its priorities for the short and medium term.  As part of PCH’s integrated business planning exercise, the following ongoing requirements have been identified for Fiscal Years 2011-2012 to 2013-2014:

  • Building maintenance and operation services: $6.2M
  • Informatics technology consulting services: $3.1M
  • Evaluation services: $2.2M
  • Informatics technology equipment (ever greening): $2.0M
  • Translation requirements: $1.4M
  • Audit services: $1.4M
  • Acquisition and analysis of various cultural industry data: $1.2M
  • Scientific equipment for laboratories to replace old equipment and to incorporate new technologies: $850K
  • Media issues management and monitoring services: $750K
  • Warehousing services: $600K
  • Printing Services: $275K
  • Other various requirements: web transformation, virtual exhibits, software, research, reports and surveys, etc.

It should be noted that PCH makes no formal commitment toward such expenses and that these amounts are strictly for forecasting purposes.

The value and complexity of our procurement requirements vary, ranging from the purchase of office supplies to million dollar contracts for services related to building maintenance, informatics technology consulting and program evaluations. 

As identified in PCH’s Investment Plan, the Department will take part in project specific activities as they relate to:

  • Her Majesty’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations;
  • The Grants and Contributions Modernization Initiative; and,
  • The Department’s InfoCentre Corporate Project.

The Department is also involved in many special events, such as:

  • International Expositions
  • Royal Visits
  • Olympics and Paralympics Games
  • Pan-Am / Para Pan-Am Games
  • Bicentennial of the War of 1812 celebrations
  • 150th Anniversary of the Confederation celebrations,
  • State Funerals

For the large majority of the goods and services PCH procures, we will use procurement tools such as:

Through the use of Electronic Bidding, we also set up some acquisition tools (i.e. standing offers, supply arrangements) to fulfill some departmental-specific requirements.  Some of these include acquisition tools for:

  • Translation, Revision and Editing Services;
  • Evaluation Services;
  • Creative Writing Services; and,
  • Creative Design Services.

Additional Information

As usual, a list of contracts awarded in the past by PCH can be found through the Department’s Contracts Disclosure reports which are published on our website.

Public Works and Government Service Canada’s website provides additional information on how to do business with the Government of Canada.  Various contracting mechanisms exist and are discussed in greater details on this page.

Please consult the Government’s Electronic Tendering System for current and upcoming PCH Electronic Bidding requirements.

Any additional request related to PCH’s procurement process may be addressed to:

Canadian Heritage
Contracting and Materiel Management Directorate

15 Eddy Street, 15-9-G
Gatineau, Québec
K1A 0M5

Stratégie d'approvisionnement triennale

Exercices 2011-2012 à 2013-2014

À propos de Patrimoine canadien

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien (le Ministère) et les principales institutions culturelles nationales du Canada jouent un rôle vital dans la vie culturelle, civique et économique des Canadiens. Nous travaillons ensemble pour promouvoir la culture, les arts, le patrimoine, les langues officielles, la citoyenneté et la participation, ainsi que les initiatives liées aux Autochtones, à la jeunesse et aux sports.

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien est chargé de développer des politiques et d'exécuter des programmes qui aident tous les Canadiens à participer à la vie culturelle et civique de leur collectivité. Le mandat législatif du Ministère, énoncé dans la Loi sur le ministère du Patrimoine canadien et dans d'autres lois dont le ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles est responsable, propose une longue liste des responsabilités du Ministre sous la rubrique des pouvoirs et fonctions « liés à l'identité, aux valeurs, au développement culturel et au patrimoine canadiens ».

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien est plus particulièrement chargé de formuler et de mettre en œuvre les politiques culturelles relatives au droit d'auteur, aux investissements étrangers et à la radiodiffusion, ainsi que les politiques relatives aux arts, à la culture, au patrimoine, aux langues officielles, au sport, au cérémonial d'État et au protocole, et aux symboles canadiens. Parmi les principales activités du Ministère, mentionnons le financement d'organismes communautaires et d'autres organismes externes pour promouvoir les avantages de la culture, de l'identité et du sport auprès de la population canadienne.

Le portefeuille du Patrimoine canadien comprend le Ministère, y compris deux organismes de services spéciaux, l'Institut canadien de conservation et le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, de même que:  cinq organismes ministériels, dix sociétés d'État, un tribunal administratif et; quatre organismes de ressources humaines qui rendent des comptes au Parlement par l'entremise du Ministre.
L’importance relative des approvisionnements stratégiques est d’autant plus grande que l’on connaît l’influence qu’ils exercent sur les résultats.

Les approvisionnements à PCH

La Direction de la gestion des marchés et du matériel (DGMM) est fonctionnellement responsable des besoins d’approvisionnement à PCH et elle se concentre sur la gestion des éléments d’actif et des activités d’approvisionnement conformément à un ensemble d’instruments politiques du Conseil du Trésor et d’initiatives d’approvisionnement pangouvernementales. Signalons qu’elle ne s’occupe pas des approvisionnements des cinq organismes ministériels, des dix sociétés d’État et du tribunal administratif.

L’objectif de la DGMM est double et reflète les quatre principes de la fonction moderne de contrôleur (intégration des renseignements sur le rendement, saine gestion des risques, rigueur de la gérance et valeurs et éthique) :

  1. assurer la gestion du matériel de manière durable et financièrement responsable afin de permettre l’exécution rentable et efficace des programmes ministériels;
  2. acquérir des produits et des services de manière à en faciliter l’accès, à favoriser la concurrence et l’équité et à en optimiser la valeur ou, le cas échéant, à concilier au mieux les avantages généraux pour l’État et pour les Canadiens.

Ces objectifs servent de fondement aux principes d’approvisionnement.

Patrimoine canadien a recours à des méthodes approuvées pour solliciter des offres et adjuger des contrats, selon les stipulations du Règlement concernant les marchés de l’État, de la Politique des marchés du Conseil du Trésor de même que des accords commerciaux qui s’appliquent :

  • MERX (le système de soumissions par voie électronique du gouvernement);
  • les offres à commandes et les arrangements en matière d’approvisionnement;
  • le mode traditionnel d’appel à la concurrence en vertu duquel au moins trois entreprises sont directement invitées à présenter des propositions;
  • sans appel à la concurrence (fournisseur unique);
  • carte d’achat (carte de crédit).

La délégation de passation des marchés de PCH est analogue à celle de la plupart des ministères :

La délégation de passation des marchés de PCH
Patrimoine canadien (000 $)
Soumissions par voie électroniqueAppel à la concurrenceSans appel à la concurrence
InscriptionModificationsInscriptionModificationsInscriptionModifications
Marché de services

2 000

1 000

400

200

100

50

Marché de fournitures

-

-

-

-

25

25

Marché de construction

400

200

400

200

40

4`0

Au-delà de ces montants, les exigences contractuelles sont traitées par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). Nous avons également la possibilité de demander l’approbation du Conseil du Trésor.

Depuis l’exercice 2008-2009, PCH a passé des marchés de fournitures et de services d’une valeur moyenne de 50 millions de dollars par an à l’appui de ses programmes et initiatives. Ces opérations d’approvisionnement ont été gérées par divers instruments d’achat (marchés de services, bons de commande, cartes d’achat, offres à commandes, arrangements en matière d’approvisionnement, etc.).

Toutes les opérations de passation de marchés sont consignées et traitées par un système automatisé (SAP), et les besoins qui dépassent 10 000 $ sont traités centralement par la DGMM. Comme nous l’avons vu plus haut, cette dernière est fonctionnellement responsable de la passation des marchés au sein de PCH.

Si on examine les dépenses de PCH engagées depuis l’exercice 2008-2009, on trouve, parmi les premiers groupes de produits qui ont fait l’objet d’activités de passation de marchés, les groupes suivants : services d’ingénierie, conseillers en technologies de l’information, services commerciaux, entretien des équipements informatiques, équipements informatiques, services de comptabilité et de vérification.

Notre stratégie d’approvisionnement

Dans le cadre de l’initiative de Renouvellement de la fonction publique lancée dans son 14e rapport annuel au premier ministre, le greffier du Conseil privé a déclaré que la priorité absolue à court et à moyen terme était d’intégrer la planification des activités.  Dans le cadre de l’exercice de planification organisationnelle intégrée de PCH, voici les exigences en matière d’approvisionnement qui ont été recensées pour les exercices 2011-2012 à 2013-2014 :

  • Services d’entretien et d’exploitation des édifices : 6,2M $
  • Services de consultation sur les technologies de l’information 3,1M $
  • Services d’évaluation : 2,2M $
  • Équipements de technologies de l’information (renouvellement) : 2,0M $
  • Besoins de traduction : 1,4M $
  • Services de vérification : 1,4M $
  • Acquisition et analyse de diverses données des industries culturelles : 1,2M $
  • Équipements scientifiques pour les laboratoires afin de remplacer les équipements désuets et d’intégrer de nouvelles technologies : 850m $
  • Services de gestion et de surveillance des questions des médias : 750m $
  • Services d’entreposage : 600m $
  • Services d’impression : 275m $
  • Autres besoins divers : transformation du web, expositions virtuelles, logiciels, recherches, rapports et sondages, etc.

Signalons que PCH ne prend aucun engagement officiel à l’égard de ces dépenses et que ces chiffres sont donnés strictement pour fins de prévisions.

La valeur et la complexité de nos besoins d’approvisionnement varient, depuis l’achat de fournitures de bureau jusqu’à des marchés de service de plusieurs millions de dollars ayant trait à l’entretien des édifices, à la consultation sur les technologies de l’information et à l’évaluation des programmes.

Tel qu’identifié dans le Plan d’investissement de PCH, le ministère prendra part dans des activités reliées à des projets précis tels que :

  • le Jubilé de diamant de Sa Majesté;
  • l’initiative de modernisation des subventions et contributions; et,
  • le projet ministériel corporatif InfoCentre.

Le Ministère est également responsable d’activités comme :

  • les expositions internationales;
  • les visites royales;
  • les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques;
  • les Jeux panaméricains/para panaméricains;
  • les célébrations du bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812;
  • les célébrations du 150e anniversaire de la fédération;
  • les funérailles d’État.

Pour la grande majorité des produits et des services acquis par PCH, nous utilisons des instruments d’approvisionnement comme :

Grâce aux soumissions par voie électronique, nous utilisons aussi certains instruments d’achat (comme des offres à commandes, des arrangements en matière d’approvisionnement) pour répondre à certains besoins propres au Ministère, notamment :

  • les services de traduction, de révision et d’édition;
  • les services d’évaluation;
  • les services de rédaction de textes originaux;
  • les services de conception créatrice.

Renseignements complémentaires

Comme d’habitude, on trouvera une liste des contrats adjugés par le passé par PCH dans les rapports de divulgation des marchés du Ministère qui sont publiés sur notre site Web.

Le site Web de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada fournit d’autres renseignements sur la manière de faire des affaires avec le gouvernement du Canada. Il existe divers instruments de passation de marchés qui sont abordés plus en détail sur cette page.

Veuillez consulter le Système d’appels d’offres électronique du gouvernement pour connaître les besoins actuels et futurs de PCH en matière d’offres électroniques.

Toute demande complémentaire d’informations doit être adressée à :

Patrimoine canadien
Direction de la gestion des marchés et du matériel
15, rue Eddy, 15-9-G
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0M5