Birth of the Canadian flag

The search for a new Canadian flag started in earnest in 1925 when a committee of the Privy Council began to research possible designs for a national flag. However, the work of the committee was never completed.

Later, in 1946, a select parliamentary committee was appointed with a similar mandate, called for submissions and received more than 2,600 designs. Still, the Parliament of Canada was never called upon to formally vote on a design.

Early in 1964, Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson informed the House of Commons that the government wished to adopt a distinctive national flag. The 1967 centennial celebration of Confederation was, after all, approaching. As a result, a Senate and House of Commons Committee was formed and submissions were called for once again.

In October 1964, after eliminating various proposals, the committee was left with three possible designs -- a Red Ensign with the fleur-de-lis and the Union Jack, a design incorporating three red maple leaves, and a red flag with a single, stylized red maple leaf on a white square. (Pearson himself preferred a design with three red maple leaves between two blue borders.)

Two heraldry experts, who both favoured a three-leaf design, played a decisive role in the choice of our flag: Alan Beddoe, a retired naval captain and heraldic adviser to the Royal Canadian Navy, and Colonel Fortescue Duguid, a heraldist and historian.

The names of Mr. John Matheson and Dr. George Stanley are well known in the story of the evolution of a new Canadian flag. Mr. Matheson, a Member of Parliament from Ontario, was perhaps one of the strongest supporters of a new flag and played a key advisory role. Dr. Stanley was Dean of Arts at the Royal Military College in Kingston, and brought to the attention of the committee the fact that the Commandant's flag at the College -- an emblem, i.e. a mailed fist, on a red and white ground -- was impressive.

Dr. Stanley's design is based on a strong sense of Canadian history. The combination of red, white and red first appeared in the General Service Medal issued by Queen Victoria. Red and white were subsequently proclaimed Canada's national colours by King George V in 1921. Three years earlier, Major General (later the Honourable) Sir Eugene Fiset had recommended that Canada's emblem be the single red maple leaf on a white field - the device worn by all Canadian Olympic athletes since 1904.

The committee eventually decided to recommend the single-leaf design, which was approved by resolution of the House of Commons on December 15, 1964, followed by the Senate on December 17, 1964, and proclaimed by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Canada, to take effect on February 15, 1965.

In due course the final design of the stylized maple leaf was established by Mr. Jacques St-Cyr, the precise dimensions of red and white were suggested by Mr. George Best, and the technical description of precise shade of red defined by Dr. Gunter Wyszchi.

The national flag of Canada, then, came into being, credit to those eminent Canadians: the Right Honourable Lester B. Pearson, who wanted a distinctive national flag as a vehicle to promote national unity; John Matheson, who established the conceptual framework for a suitable flag, then sought out and combined the appropriate components to create it; and Dr. George Stanley, who provided the seminal concept - the central concepts of red-white-red stripes with a central maple leaf - in this process.

Naissance du drapeau canadien

La recherche d'un nouveau drapeau canadien a commencé en 1925, quand un comité du Conseil privé a entrepris de trouver des idées pour un drapeau national. Malheureusement, les travaux du comité n'ont pas abouti.

Plus tard, en 1946, une commission d'enquête parlementaire a reçu un mandat semblable. Elle a invité des propositions et reçu plus de 2 600 dessins. Pourtant, aucune résolution n'a été soumise au Parlement.

Au début de 1964, le premier ministre Lester B. Pearson faisait part à la Chambre des communes du désir du gouvernement d'adopter un drapeau national distinctif. La célébration du centenaire de la Confédération du Canada approchait vite. C'est ainsi qu'un comité mixte du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes a de nouveau invité des propositions.

En octobre 1964, après avoir écarté diverses esquisses, le comité n'en retint que trois : un Red Ensign portant la fleur de lis et l'Union Jack, un dessin figurant trois feuilles d'érable entre deux bordures de bleu ciel, et un drapeau rouge orné d'une feuille d'érable rouge stylisée sur un carré blanc. (M. Pearson lui-même préférait le trifolié.)

Deux experts en science héraldique ont joué un rôle prépondérant dans la sélection de notre drapeau : Alan Beddoe, capitaine de marine à la retraite et héraldiste conseil de la Marine canadienne, et le colonel Fortescue Duguid, héraldiste et historien. Tous deux cependant étaient partisans d'un trifolié.

Deux autres personnes ont certainement influencé la création d'un nouveau drapeau national pour le Canada. M. Matheson, député fédéral d'Ontario, était l'un des plus fervents partisans du nouveau drapeau et il en fut le principal conseiller. Dr. George Stanley, doyen de la faculté des Lettres au Collège militaire royal de Kingston et plus tard lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick, a fait observer aux membres du comité le fait que le drapeau du commandant du Collège, un symbole - une main gantée - sur un carré rouge et blanc, était impressionnant.

Le modèle proposé par Dr. Stanley repose sur la prise en compte de l'histoire canadienne. Les couleurs rouge, blanc et rouge avaient été employées pour la première fois sur la Médaille du service général créée par la reine Victoria. Par la suite, en 1921, le rouge et le blanc ont été proclamés couleurs nationales du Canada par le roi Georges V. Trois ans plus tôt, le major-général sir Eugene Fiset (qui reçut le titre honorable par la suite) avait recommandé comme emblème pour le Canada une feuille d'érable rouge sur un carré blanc (symbole porté par tous les athlètes olympiques du Canada depuis 1904).

À la fin, le comité décida de recommander l'unifolié, et ce dernier fut adopté par la Chambre des communes le 15 décembre 1964 et par le Sénat le 17 décembre 1964. La proclamation fut signée par Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, reine du Canada, et est entrée en vigueur le 15 février 1965.

Par la suite, M. Jacques St-Cyr a conçu le dessin final de la feuille d'érable stylisée, M. George Bist a défini les proportions du drapeau, et la fiche technique de la teinte de rouge du drapeau a été élaborée par Dr. Gunther Wyszechi.

Le drapeau national du Canada est donc né grâce à ces éminents Canadiens : le très honorable Lester B. Pearson, qui voulait un drapeau distinct pour notre pays afin de promouvoir l'unité nationale; John Matheson, qui a conçu le cadre conceptuel d'un drapeau approprié et réuni les composantes nécessaires à sa création; et Dr. George Stanley, père du concept novateur qui inspira notre drapeau, soit celui d'une feuille d'érable centrale sur un carré blanc bordé de deux lisières rouges.