Personal Flags and Standards

The Sovereign and members of the Royal Family

The Sovereign and members of the Royal Family are entitled to display personal flags and standards which are normally flown to denote their presence. These flags and standards are flown day and night at any building in which they are in residence or in which they are attending a public function.

Generally, personal flags and standards are flown behind the saluting base when troops are inspected and on Her Majesty's ships when they are aboard.

Normally, personal flags and standards are broken from the flag pole as members of the Royal Family step on the saluting base or enter the building and are lowered as they leave. The saluting base flag pole must therefore be rigged with halyards.

Her Majesty's Personal Canadian flag and standards of members of the Royal Family will take precedence before the national flag; they are never half-masted.

These flags and standards, like all personal flags, are never used by others.

Her Majesty's Personal Canadian flag

Although Her Majesty The Queen has several standards and personal flags which are displayed according to the event and the location, in Canada, only The Queen's Personal Canadian flag will be displayed to mark her presence (as illustrated above).

Royal flags and standards are normally provided by the Household Staff and are lent to the Department of Canadian Heritage Visit Staff prior to the visit; The Queen's Personal Canadian flag is obtained from Rideau Hall.

If more than one member of the Royal Family is present on an official visit, only the standard of the member taking precedence shall be flown.

Flags and standards of foreign heads of state may be flown as the occasion demands but normally only the foreign national flag is flown in connection with a Head of State visit. The foreign national flag will take precedence after the national flag.

The Governor General's flag

The Governor General's flag (as illustrated above) has precedence over all flags in Canada except The Queen's Personal Canadian flag and the flag of the Lieutenant Governor of a Province at the Lieutenant Governor's residence or on occasion when the Lieutenant Governor is performing his duties as The Queen's representative in the Province. The same provisions specified for the Sovereign's flag and other personal standards apply to the Governor General's flag.

The Lieutenant Governors' flags

The flags of the lieutenant governors of provinces within the province of their jurisdiction are treated in a manner similar to the Governor General's flag and take precedence over all flags except The Queen's Personal Canadian flag (as illustrated below).

Drapeaux et étendards distinctifs

La souveraine et les membres de la Famille royale

La souveraine et les membres de la Famille royale ont le droit de déployer leurs drapeaux et étendards personnels, qui sont généralement arborés pour signaler leur présence. Ces drapeaux et étendards flottent jour et nuit sur les immeubles où ils résident et ceux où ils participent à une cérémonie publique.

Généralement, les drapeaux et étendards personnels sont déployés derrière le point de salut, lorsque les troupes sont passées en revue, et sur les navires de Sa Majesté, lorsque la souveraine ou un membre de la Famille royale est à bord.

Normalement, les drapeaux et étendards personnels sont déployés sur le mât lorsque les membres de la Famille royale montent sur le point de salut ou entrent dans l'immeuble. Les drapeaux sont ramenés lorsqu'ils quittent. Le mât du point de salut doit donc être gréé de drisses.

Le drapeau canadien personnel de la reine et les étendards personnels des membres de la Famille royale ont préséance sur le drapeau national; ils ne sont jamais mis en berne.

Ces drapeaux et étendards, comme tous les drapeaux personnels, ne sont jamais utilisés par d'autres personnes.

Le drapeau canadien personnel de la reine

Bien que Sa Majesté la reine possède plusieurs étendards et drapeaux personnels déployés selon l'occasion et l'endroit, au Canada, seul le drapeau canadien personnel doit être arboré pour signaler sa présence (illustration). Les drapeaux et étendards des membres de la Famille royale sont généralement fournis par le personnel du palais de Buckingham et sont prêtés aux responsables des visites officielles au Patrimoine canadien avant la visite.

Lorsque plusieurs membres de la Famille royale participent à une même visite officielle, seul l'étendard de celui qui a préséance doit être arboré.

Les drapeaux et étendards des chefs d'État étrangers peuvent être déployés à l'occasion, mais en général, seul le drapeau national du pays étranger sera déployé lors de la visite d'un chef d'État. Le drapeau national du pays étranger a préséance immédiatement après le drapeau canadien.

Le drapeau du gouverneur général

Le drapeau du gouverneur général (illustration) a préséance sur tous les autres drapeaux au Canada, sauf le drapeau canadien personnel de la reine et celui du lieutenant-gouverneur d'une province à la résidence du lieutenant-gouverneur en question ou lorsque celui-ci remplit ses fonctions de représentant de la reine dans sa province. Les dispositions concernant le drapeau et autres étendards de la souveraine s'appliquent au drapeau du gouverneur général.

Les drapeaux des lieutenants-gouverneurs

Les drapeaux des lieutenants-gouverneurs des provinces, à l'intérieur des limites de leurs provinces respectives, doivent être traités de la même manière que le drapeau du gouverneur général et avoir préséance sur tous les autres drapeaux, sauf le drapeau canadien personnel de la reine (illustrations ci-dessous).