Provincial and Territorial Tartans

Maple leaf made up of Canada’s national tartan in the centre surrounded by all 12 provincial and territorial tartans

Ontario

The Ontario tartan is made up of four main different blocks containing the colours red and white with three shades of green and two shades of blue. The green shades symbolize the forests and fields of Ontario while the blue colours depict the water found in the province. The First Nations of Ontario are symbolized by the colour red and the sky over the province is depicted by the colour white. The tartan was adopted when the Tartan Act, introduced by Bill Murdoch, MPP for Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound, received Royal Assent on June 23, 2000.

Nova Scotia

The Nova Scotia tartan was designed by Mrs. Bessie Murray. It was registered in the books of the Court of the Lord Lyon on March 7, 1956, and adopted as the official tartan of the province under the authority of the Nova Scotia Tartan Act in 1963. Represented in the design are the blue of sea and sky; the dark and light greens of evergreens and deciduous trees characteristic of the province; the white of rocks and coastline surf; the gold of Nova Scotia's Royal Charter; and the red symbolizing the lion rampant on the Nova Scotia crest.

New Brunswick

The New Brunswick tartan was designed by the Loomcrofters of Gagetown, New Brunswick. The design was adopted as the official tartan by Order in Council in 1959. The tartan is registered at the Court of the Lord Lyon, King of Arms of Scotland. Represented in the design are the forest green of lumbering; the meadow green of agriculture; the blue of coastal and inland waters; and an interweaving of gold, symbol of the province's potential wealth. The red blocks signify the loyalty and devotion of the early Loyalist settlers and the New Brunswick Regiment.

Manitoba

The Manitoba tartan, designed by Hugh Kirkwood Rankine was registered at the Court of the Lord Lyon, King of Arms of Scotland, and given Royal Assent on May 1, 1962. The red squares represent the Red River Settlement; the green squares signify the natural resources of the province; the azure blue squares represent Lord Selkirk, the founder of the Red River Settlement; the dark green lines represent the people of different cultures and races who have enriched the life of the province; and the golden lines signify the grain and other agricultural products of Manitoba.

British Columbia

The British Columbia tartan was designed by Earl K. Ward of Victoria and officially approved by the British Columbia Centennial Committee for the 1966-67 Centenaries. Represented in the design are the blue of the Pacific Ocean; the green of the forests; the red of the maple leaf; the white of the dogwood floral emblem; and the gold of the crown and sun in the provincial arms.

Prince Edward Island

Mrs. Jean Reid of Covehead designed the Prince Edward Island tartan which was adopted after a province-wide contest of June 16, 1960. The reddish-brown signifies the redness of the soil; the green represents the grass and trees; the white is for the caps on the waves; the yellow for the sun.

Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan's official tartan, registered at the Court of the Lord Lyon, King of Arms of Scotland, has seven colours with gold representing prairie wheat; brown for summer fallow; green for the forests; red for the prairie lily; yellow for rapeseed flower and sun flower; white for snow; and black for oil and coal.

Alberta

Designed by the Edmonton Rehabilitation Society for the Handicapped, the Alberta tartan was given official recognition by an Act of the Legislature assented to March 30, 1961. The predominant colours are green for the province's forests and gold for its fields of wheat. Other attributes of the province are represented by blue for the skies and lakes, pink for the wild rose, and black for the mineral resources of coal and petroleum.

Northwest Territories

The official tartan of the Northwest Territories designed by Mrs. Janet Anderson Thomson was unveiled at the 48th Session of the Territorial Council in January of 1973. The new tartan is in the traditional design with colours of green and brown and shades of red.

Yukon

The Yukon tartan was designed in 1965 by Janet Couture, of Faro, and was officially registered by Lord Lyon, King of Arms of Her Majesty's Register House in Edinburgh on October 24, 1984. A Yukon Tartan Act was passed during the fourth session of the 25th Legislature on November 29, 1984. Yukoner's pride in the territory is reflected in the brilliant colours of the Yukon tartan. This unique design incorporates stripes in varying widths of green, magenta, white, yellow, and purple on a crystalline blue background. The blue represents the Yukon's sparkling, glacier fed waters and its clear mountain skies. Magenta reflects the colour of the Yukon's floral emblem, the firewood of late summer. Green is symbolic of Yukon's great expanses of wilderness forest and purple symbolizes the majestic thrust of mountains into the northern sky. White represents the purity of the winter snow that crowns the mountain peaks and blankets the alpine meadows. The yellow represents the long, soft evenings of the midnight sun, and the Yukon's famous deposits of gold.

Newfoundland and Labrador

The Newfoundland and Labrador tartan was designed by St. John's businessman Sam Wilansky in the early 60's. The tartan has the colours of gold, white, brown and red on a green background. The gold represents the sun's rays; the green represents the pine clad hills; the white represents the cloak of snow; the brown represents the Iron Isle; and the red represents the Royal Standard for which our fathers stood.

Quebec (non-official tartan)

The plaid of Quebec tartan owes its inspiration to the provincial coat of arms which in turn reflects the history of the province. The colours of the tartan are taken from the three horizontal divisions of the shield. The blue is for the field of the upper division containing three fleurs de lys. The green is for the sprig of maple leaves on the lower division. The red is for the background of the centre division. The gold is for the lion rampant in the third division and also for the crown of the crest. The white is for the scroll with the motto "Je me souviens" (I remember).

Tartans provinciaux et territoriaux

Feuille d’érable composée des 12 tartans provinciaux et territoriaux autour du tartan national du Canada

Ontario

Le tartan de l'Ontario se compose de quatre bandes de couleurs, où l'on trouve du rouge, du blanc, trois nuances de vert et deux nuances de bleu. Les verts symbolisent les forêts et les champs de l'Ontario; les bleus représentent les eaux de la province; le rouge représente les Premières nations de l'Ontario, et le blanc, le ciel. Le tartan a été adopté aux termes de la Loi de 2000 sur le tartan, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 23 juin 2000; le projet de loi avait été présenté par Bill Murdoch, député de Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound.

Nouvelle-Écosse

Le tartan de la Nouvelle-Écosse a été conçu par Mme Bessie Murray. Il fut inscrit auprès de la Cour du Lord Lyon le 7 mars 1956 et adopté comme tartan officiel de la province en vertu de la Nova Scotia Tartan Act en 1963. On y retrouve le bleu, qui rappelle la mer et le ciel; le vert foncé et le vert clair, couleurs des arbres à feuilles persistantes et à feuilles caduques caractéristiques de cette province; le blanc des rochers et des vagues déferlantes du littoral; l'or, qui symbolise la Charte royale de la province; et le rouge, rappel du lion rampant qui figure sur ses armoiries.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Conçu par les artisans « loomcrofters » de Gagetown (Nouveau-Brunswick), le tartan de cette province a été officiellement reconnu par un décret du conseil en 1959. Il est inscrit auprès de la Cour du Lord Lyon, Roi d'armes de l'Écosse. Dans ce tartan, le vert forêt rappelle l'industrie de l'exploitation forestière; le vert prairie symbolise l'agriculture; le bleu représente les eaux côtières et intérieures; l'or entrelacé dans le tissu fait allusion à la richesse potentielle de la province. Le carré rouge symbolise la loyauté et le dévouement des premiers colons loyalistes et du Royal New Brunswick Regiment.

Manitoba

Le tartan du Manitoba, conçu par Hugh Kirkwood Rankine, a été inscrit à la Cour du Lord Lyon, Roi d'armes de l'Écosse, et a reçu la sanction royale le 1er mai 1962. Les carrés rouges représentent les colonies de la Rivière rouge; les carrés verts rappellent les ressources naturelles de la province; les carrés bleu azur sont un hommage à Lord Selkirk, fondateur de la colonie de la rivière Rouge; les lignes vert foncé représentent les gens de cultures et de races différentes qui ont enrichi la vie de la province; enfin, les lignes dorées représentent les céréales et les autres produits agricoles du Manitoba.

Colombie-Britannique

Le tartan de la Colombie-Britannique a été conçu par Earl K. Ward, de Victoria, et officiellement approuvé par le Comité du centenaire de la Colombie-Britannique chargé des fêtes de 1966-1967. On y retrouve le bleu de l'océan Pacifique; le vert des forêts; le rouge de l'unifolié; le blanc de l'emblème floral de la province (le cornouiller); et l'or de la couronne et du soleil figurant dans ses armoiries.

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le tartan de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a été conçu par Mme Jean Reid, de Covehead. Il a été adopté le 16 juin 1960, à la suite d'un concours tenu dans toute la province. Il contient du brun roux, qui représente le sol rougeâtre de l'île; du vert, qui en rappelle l'herbe et les arbres; du blanc pour l'écume des vagues; et du jaune pour le soleil.

Saskatchewan

Le tartan officiel de la Saskatchewan, inscrit à la Cour du Lord Lyon, Roi d'armes de l'Écosse, compte sept couleurs, soit l'or, pour le blé des prairies; le brun, pour la jachère estivale; le vert, pour les forêts; le rouge, pour l'emblème floral de la province (le lys orangé); le jaune pour le colza et le tournesol; le blanc pour la neige; et le noir pour le pétrole et le charbon.

Alberta

Conçu par l'Edmonton Rehabilitation Society for the Handicapped, le tartan de l'Alberta a été reconnu officiellement par une loi de l'assemblée provinciale, sanctionnée le 30 mars 1973. Ses couleurs principales sont le vert, qui symbolise les forêts de la province, et l'or, qui représente les champs de blé.  On y retrouve aussi le bleu du ciel et des lacs; le rose, couleur de la rose aciculaire, emblème floral de l'Alberta; et le noir pour le pétrole et le charbon, ses ressources minérales.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Le tartan des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, conçu par Mme Janet Anderson Thomson, a été dévoilé lors de la 48e session du Conseil territorial, en janvier 1973. Ce motif de conception traditionnelle regroupe le vert et le brun, avec divers tons de rouge.

Yukon

Ce tartan a été conçu en 1965 par Janet Couture, de Faro, et officiellement enregistré par Lord Lyon, Roi d'armes au siège du registre de Sa Majesté, à Édimbourg, le 24 octobre 1984. Une loi à ce sujet a été adoptée pendant la quatrième session du 25e parlement, le 29 novembre 1984. La fierté des habitants du Yukon pour leur territoire se reflète dans les brillantes couleurs de leur tartan. Il s'agit d'un motif original, qui regroupe des rayures de diverses largeurs, dans des tons de vert, magenta, blanc, jaune et violet, sur fond bleu clair. Ce bleu représente les eaux cristallines qui coulent des glaciers et le ciel pur de la haute montagne. Le magenta est la couleur de l'épilobe, emblème floral du Yukon. Le vert symbolise ses immenses forêts et le violet rappelle la teinte des cimes sous le ciel du Nord. Le blanc représente la pureté des neiges hivernales qui couronnent les sommets et recouvrent les flancs des montagnes. Le jaune rappelle les longues soirées de douceur sous le soleil de minuit et les fameux gisements aurifères du territoire.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Le tartan de Terre-Neuve a été conçu par un homme d'affaires de St. John's, Sam Wilansky, au début des années 1960. Il regroupe l'or, le blanc, le brun et le rouge sur un fond vert. L'or représente les rayons du soleil; le vert, les collines couvertes de pins; le blanc, le manteau de neige; le brun, l'île de fer; et le rouge l'étendard royal, symbole d'une tradition farouchement défendue.

Québec (tartan non officiel)

Le tartan du Québec a été créé à partir des armoiries de la province, qui sont un reflet de son histoire. On y retrouve les couleurs des trois divisions horizontales de l'écu. Le bleu rappelle le champ du haut (bleu avec fleurs de lys); le vert représente le rameau d'érable du bas; tandis que l'or symbolise le lion de la partie centrale, de même que la couronne de l'écu. Le blanc fait référence au listel portant la devise « Je me souviens ».