La Francophonie -- Canada and the Canadian Francophonie

There are two official languages in Canada -- French and English -- with French being the mother tongue of 6.7 million Canadians (2006 census). This large Francophone community is an integral part of Canada's identity and contributes to its unique character.

The majority of Francophones live in Quebec, but almost one million are found in Canada's other provinces and territories.

Since the second half of the 19th century, minority-community Francophones have come together within organizations, federations and associations that ensure the development of their communities. Over the years, the Francophone communities of Canada have adopted flags and emblems as symbols of their pride and vitality.

Acadian Flag
Acadian (1884)

The Acadian national flag was adopted at the second national convention of Acadians held in Miscouche, Prince Edward Island, in 1884. It is the symbol of Acadians from Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. The flag is based on the national flag of France and the star represents Our Lady of the Assumption -- patron saint of Acadians.

Franco-Ontarian Flag
Franco-Ontarian (1975)

The green and white of the flag of the Ontario French-speaking community represent the diversity of Ontario's climate (green symbolizes summer, and white represents winter). The fleur-de-lis evokes the Frenchspeaking community worldwide whereas the trillium is the official floral emblem of Ontario. This flag was adopted as the emblem of the Ontario Frenchspeaking community by an Act of the Legislature of Ontario in 2001.


Fransaskois Flag
Fransaskois (1979)


The flag of the Fransaskois uses the colours of Saskatchewan. Yellow symbolizes the wheat fields, green the pine forests, and red -- the colour of the heart -- represents the province's Francophones. The cross is a solemn testimony to the missionaries who founded most of the Francophone settlements in Saskatchewan, while the fleur-de-lis is a symbol of the worldwide Francophone community.


Franco-Manitoban Flag
Franco-Manitoban (1980)

The Franco-Manitoban flag is adorned with a red band representing the Red River and a yellow one representing Manitoba's wheat. The deep green roots turn into a leafy plant that is also a stylized "F" signifying Francophone.

Franco-colombian-Flag
Franco-Columbian (1982)

The Franco-Columbian flag features the dogwood, the floral emblem of British Columbia. The blue lines evoke images of the sea, while the raised lines represent the Rocky Mountains. The fleur-de-lis symbolizes the Francophone community; one of the petals is pointing toward the sun, represented by the yellow disc.

Franco-Albertan Flag
Franco-Albertan (1982)

The Franco-Albertan flag is blue, white and red. The fleur-de-lis symbolizes French culture; the stylized wild rose and the blue, Alberta; the white, the worldwide Francophone community. The blue and white bands represent the waterways and routes used by the explorers and early settlers.

Francophone community in Yukon Flag
Francophone community
in Yukon (1985)

The blue in the flag of the Francophone community in Yukon symbolizes the worldwide Francophone community; the gold evokes the 1898 Gold Rush; and the white symbolizes the snow that covers the Yukon landscape for a good part of the year.

Francophone community in Newfoundland and Labrador Flag
Francophone community in
Newfoundland and Labrador
(1986)

The blue, white and red of the flag of Newfoundland and Labrador's Francophone community represent the community's French origins. The two yellow sails, the colour of Acadia, signify the arrival of their common ancestors. The upper sail is decorated with a tamarack branch, the emblem of Labrador, and the large sail has a pitcher plant, the official floral emblem of the province.

Francophone community in the Northwest Territories Flag
Francophone community in
the Northwest Territories
(1992)

The flag of the Francophone community in the Northwest Territories depicts a curved base with a bear. White symbolizes the snow and blue the Francophone community the world over. The curve represents the Territories' location above the 60th parallel, close to the North Pole. The polar bear, a symbol of freedom and nature in the spacious North, is looking at the snowflake and the fleur-de-lis, which represent the Francophone community in the North.


Association des francophones du Nunavut Flag
Association des francophones
du Nunavut (1981)


In the Franco-Nunavut flag, the blue represents the Arctic sky, and the white represents snow. The central shape evokes an igloo and contains an inuksuk (a stone structure),symbolizing the human footprint in this vast territory. At the base of the inuksuk is a dandelion, which reflects Canada's and Nunavut's Francophone community: tenacious and enduring, it stands strong and adapts to its environment, embellishing it with colour.

Canada and the international Francophonie

The term Francophonie was first used as the end of the 19th century to refer to countries under France's influence. Today, it refers to the community of peoples around the world who speak or use French to varying degrees in their own countries or internationally.

La Francophonie also describes an international network of more than 60 states and governments that share the use of the French language. Recognizing the importance of the French language and culture at home and abroad, the Governement of Canada has associated itself with La Francophonie from its beginning in 1970. Through this multilateral forum of cooperation and dialogue, Canada extends its considerable influence to promote the values that matter most to Canadians, namely peace, the development of democracy and a constitutional state, respect for human rights, sustainable development, cultural and linguistic diversity, and sound governance.

Canada has the status of member in La Francophonie, while the provinces of Quebec and New Brunswick are recognized as participating governments.

The flags of Canada, Quebec and New Brunswick officially represent the Canadian Francophonie.

The circular form of the flag of La Francophonie conveys the idea of coming together. The five interconnected segments represent the idea of cooperation across the five continents where the members of La Francophonie are located. The five colours represent the various colours found on the flags of the participating countries and governments.

La Francophonie Flag

The Flag of La Francophonie

Flag of Canada

Canada

Quebec Flag

Quebec

New Brunswick Flag

New Brunswick

Members of La Francophonie

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Armenia[2]
  • Austria[2]
  • Belgium
  • Belgium, French Community
  • Benin
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina-Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Canada-New Brunswick
  • Canada-Quebec
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of
  • Congo, Republic of
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Croatia[2]
  • Cyprus[1]
  • Czech Republic[2]
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • FormerYugoslav Republic of Macedonia, The
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Georgia[2]
  • Ghana[1]
  • Greece
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Hungary[2]
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lithuania[2]
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Moldavia
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique[2]
  • Niger
  • Poland[2]
  • Romania
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Lucia
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Serbia[2]
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia[2]
  • Slovenia[2]
  • Switzerland
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Ukraine[2]
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam

Notes

  • [1] Associated members
  • [2] Observers

(As of date of publication-March 2008)

[ Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page ]

La Francophonie - Le Canada et la francophonie canadienne

Le Canada compte deux langues officielles: le français et l’anglais. Le français est la langue maternelle de 6,7 millions de personnes (selon le recensement de 2006). Cette grande collectivité francophone fait partie intégrante de l’identité canadienne et contribue à lui conférer son unicité.

La majorité des francophones vivent au Québec, mais près d’un million sont répartis dans les autres provinces et territoires du Canada.

Depuis la deuxième moitié du XIXe siècle, ces francophones en situation minoritaire se sont regroupés au sein d’organismes, de fédérations et d’associations qui veillent à l’épanouissement de leur collectivité. Au fil des ans, les communautés francophones du Canada se sont dotées d’emblèmes et de drapeaux, symboles de leur fierté et de leur dynamisme.

Acadian Flag
Acadien (1884)

Le drapeau national acadien fut adopté en 1884, lors de la deuxième convention nationale des Acadiens tenue à Miscouche (Île-du- Prince-Édouard). Il représente les Acadiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Le drapeau tricolore s’inspire de celui de la France, et l’étoile jaune représente Notre-Dame de l’Assomption, la patronne des Acadiens.

Franco-Ontarian Flag
Franco-ontarien (1975)

Le drapeau de la communauté francophone de l’Ontario, est vert et blanc. Ces couleurs reflètent la diversité du climat de l’Ontario (le vert symbolise l’été, et le blanc l’hiver). Le lis représente la francophonie mondiale, et le trille est l’emblème floral officiel de l’Ontario. Ce drapeau a été adopté officiellement en tant qu’emblène de la communauté franco–ontarienne par l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario en 2001.

Fransaskois Flag
Fransaskois (1979)

Le drapeau fransaskois est aux couleurs de la Saskatchewan. Le jaune évoque les champs de blé, le vert les forêts de pins, le rouge, couleur du coeur, représente les francophones de la province. La croix évoque de façon solennelle les missionnaires qui ont fondé la plupart des premiers établissements francophones en Saskatchewan, et la fleur de lis symbolise la francophonie.

Franco-Manitoban Flag
Franco-manitobain (1980)

Le drapeau francomanitobain est orné d’une bande rouge et d’une bande jaune qui représentent la rivière Rouge et le blé manitobain. La tige verte évoque les racines profondes qui se transforment en feuillée vivante en forme de « F » symbolisant les francophones.

Franco-colombian-Flag
Franco-colombien (1982)

Le drapeau francocolombien porte l’emblème floral de la Colombie-Britannique, le cornouiller. Les lignes bleues évoquent la mer, et l’élévation des lignes les montagnes Rocheuses. La fleur de lis symbolise la francophonie et pointe vers le soleil, que représente le disque jaune.

Drapeau Franco-albertain
Franco-albertain (1982)

Le drapeau francoalbertain est bleu, blanc et rouge. La fleur de lis rappelle la culture francophone, l’églantine stylisée et le bleu représentent l’Alberta, le blanc la communauté francophone mondiale, et les bandes bleues et blanches les cours d’eau et les routes qu’utilisèrent les explorateurs et les colons.

Collectivité francophone du Yukon
Collectivité francophone du
Yukon (1985)

Le bleu du drapeau de la collectivité francophone du Yukon représente la francophonie internationale; la couleur or nous ramène en 1898 à l’époque de la ruée vers l’or; enfin, le blanc évoque la neige qui habille le paysage du Yukon une grande partie de l’année.

Drapeau Collectivité francophone de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Collectivité francophone de
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
(1986)

Le drapeau de la collectivité francophone de Terre-Neuveet- Labrador est de couleurs bleu, blanc et rouge pour souligner ses origines françaises. Ses deux voiles jaunes, couleur de l’Acadie, commémorent l’arrivée de leurs ancêtres; la haute voile est décorée d’une branche de tamarak, emblème du Labrador, et la grande voile d’une sarracénie, emblème floral officiel de la province.

Drapeau Collectivité francophone des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Collectivité francophone des
Territoires du Nord-Ouest
(1992)

Le drapeau de la collectivité francophone des Territoires du Nord- Ouest représente une courbe sur laquelle se trouve un ours. Le blanc fait référence à la neige, le bleu à la francophonie. La courbe évoque le 60e parallèle au-delà duquel se trouvent les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, près du pôle Nord. L’ours polaire, symbole de liberté et de la nature des grands espaces nordiques regarde briller le flocon de neige et la fleur de lis, signe du regroupement des francophones en terre nordique.


Drapeau Association des francophones du Nunavut
Association des francophones
du Nunavut (1981)

Dans le drapeau franconunavutois, le bleu représente le ciel arctique, et le blanc représente la neige. La forme au centre évoque un igloo et contient un inuksuk (amas de pierres), symbolisant la présence humaine dans ce vaste territoire. Le pissenlit à la base de l’inuksuk est à l’image de la francophonie canadienne et nunavutoise : tenace et persévérant, il résiste aux coups du sort, s’adapte à son environnement et l’agrémente de ses couleurs.

Le Canada et la Francophonie internationale

Le mot « francophonie » est apparu vers la fin du XIXe siècle, il désignait les pays qui se trouvaient sous l'influence de la France. Aujourd'hui, il désigne les communautés du monde entier qui parlent le français ou qui l'utilisent à un certain degré pour traiter avec des gens du pays ou de l'étranger.

La Francophonie indique également un réseau international de plus de 60 pays et gouvernements ayant le français en partage. Reconnaissant l'importance de la culture et de la langue française au pays et dans la communauté internationale, le gouvernement du Canada s'est associé à la Francophonie dès ses débuts, en 1970. Par l'entremise de ce forum multilatéral de concertation et de dialogue, le Canada exerce une influence majeure en faveur de la promotion de valeurs chères aux canadiens, en particulier la paix, le développement démocratique et de l'État de droit, le respect des droits de la personne, le développement durable, la diversité culturelle et linguistique ainsi que la bonne gouvernance.

Le Canada jouit du statut d'État membre de la Francophonie, alors que les provinces du Québec et du Nouveau-Brunswick en sont des gouvernements participants.

Les drapeaux du Canada, du Québec et du Nouveau- Brunswick représentent officiellement la francophonie canadienne.

La forme circulaire du drapeau de la Francophonie évoque l’idée du rassemblement. Les cinq bandes s’appuyant les unes sur les autres représentent la collaboration entre les cinq continents sur lesquels se situent les membres de la Francophonie. Les cinq couleurs rappellent les diverses couleurs des drapeaux des États et des gouvernements participants.

Drapeau de La Francophonie

Drapeau de la Francophonie

Drapeau du Canada

Canada

Drapeau du Quebec

Québec

Drapeau du Nouveau-Brunswick

Nouveau-Brunswick

Membres de la Francophonie

  • Albanie
  • Andorre
  • Arménie
  • Autriche[2]
  • Belgique
  • Bénin
  • Bulgarie
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodge
  • Cameroun
  • Canada
  • Canada-Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Canada-Québec
  • Cap-Vert
  • Centrafrique
  • Chypre
  • Communauté française de Belgique
  • Comores
  • Congo
  • Congo RD
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Croatie[2]
  • Djibouti
  • Dominique
  • Egypte
  • Ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Géorgie[2]
  • Ghana
  • Grèce
  • Guinée[1]
  • Guinée Bissau
  • Guinée équatoriale
  • Haïti
  • Hongrie[2]
  • Laos
  • Lettonie[2]
  • Liban
  • Lituanie[2]
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar[1]
  • Mali
  • Maroc
  • Maurice
  • Mauritanie[1]
  • Moldavie
  • Monaco
  • Mozambique[2]
  • Niger
  • Pologne[2]
  • République Tchèque[2]
  • Roumanie
  • Rwanda
  • Sainte-Lucie
  • Sao Tomé et Principe
  • Sénégal
  • Serbie[2]
  • Seychelles
  • Slovaquie[2]
  • Slovénie[2]
  • Suisse
  • Tchad
  • Thaïlande[2]
  • Togo
  • Tunisie
  • Ukraine[2]
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam

Notes

  • [1] États suspendus de la Francophonie
  • [2] Observateurs

(en date de l'impression de cette publication)

[ Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante ]