News Release

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

National Holocaust Monument

Public invited to view final concepts

February 17, 2014 - Gatineau - Department of Canadian Heritage

Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, and John Baird, Minister of Foreign Affairs, invite the public to view the six final design concepts for the future National Holocaust Monument, which will be located in Ottawa. 

The public viewing will take place on Thursday, February 20 from 5:30 to 8 p.m. in the lobby of the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa. The public is invited to come meet the design teams and share their comments on the designs.

A seven-member jury composed of accomplished professionals in the fields of art and urban design, a Holocaust survivor, and representation from the National Holocaust Monument Development Council will recommend the winning design team to the Government of Canada. Comments from the public will be shared with the jury prior to making the final recommendation to the Government of Canada.

Quick Facts

  • In May 2013, teams of professional artists, architects, landscape architects and other design professionals were invited to submit their credentials and examples of prior work in the first stage of a two-phase design competition.
  • Six teams were chosen to move forward to develop monument concepts as part of the competition’s second phase.
  • The future National Holocaust Monument will be prominently located in the core of Canada’s Capital at the corner of Wellington and Booth Streets. The monument site faces the iconic Canadian War Museum.
  • The official inauguration of the main elements of the monument is scheduled for fall 2015.

Quotes

“I am pleased with the high calibre of the teams that have answered our call through this national design competition. The future National Holocaust Monument will be a lasting symbol for Canadians and visitors to Canada’s Capital region to remember the horror of the Holocaust and how it affected our history.”

- Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages

“We are one step closer to confirming which team will build the new National Holocaust Monument. This commemoration project will promote a better understanding of the historical events of the Holocaust and how they have affected Canadian history—an understanding that will benefit Canadians in every community across the country.”

- John Baird, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Related Products

National Holocaust Monument – Six finalists invited to develop design concepts

Additional Links

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada – National Holocaust Monument

National Holocaust Monument Development Council

Stay Connected

 

Media Contacts

Marisa Monnin
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
819-997-7788
marisa.monnin@pch.gc.ca

Media Relations
Canadian Heritage
819-994-9101
1-866-569-6155
media@pch.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Monument national de l’Holocauste

Le public est invité à prendre connaissance des concepts proposés

Le 17 février 2014 - Gatineau - ministère du Patrimoine canadien

Shelly Glover, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles, et John Baird, ministre des Affaires étrangères, invitent le public à venir prendre connaissance des six concepts du futur Monument national de l’Holocauste, lequel sera érigé à Ottawa.

La consultation par le public aura lieu le jeudi 20 février de 17 h 30 à 20 h dans le hall du Musée canadien de la guerre à Ottawa. Le public est invité à venir rencontrer les équipes de concepteurs et à faire part de leurs commentaires en lien avec les concepts.

Un jury composé de sept membres, dont des professionnels chevronnés dans les domaines de l’art et de l’esthétique urbaine, une survivante de l’Holocauste et un représentant du Conseil d’édification du Monument national de l’Holocauste, recommandera au gouvernement du Canada une équipe de concepteurs gagnante. Les commentaires du public seront communiqués au jury avant que celui-ci formule sa dernière recommandation au gouvernement du Canada

Les faits en bref

  • En mai 2013, des équipes formées d’artistes professionnels, d’architectes, d’architectes paysages et d’autres professionnels du design ont été invitées à soumettre leurs titres de compétences ainsi que des exemples de travaux antérieurs dans le cadre du premier volet d’un concours en deux étapes.
  • On a retenu six équipes, lesquelles ont ensuite entrepris l’élaboration des concepts pour le monument en tant que deuxième volet du concours.
  • Le futur Monument national de l’Holocauste sera avantageusement situé au cœur de la capitale du Canada, à l’intersection des rues Wellington et Booth. L’emplacement du monument se trouve en face de l’emblématique Musée canadien de la guerre.
  • L’inauguration officielle des principaux éléments du monument devrait avoir lieu à l’automne 2015.

Citations

« Je suis ravie du haut calibre des équipes qui ont répondu à notre appel par suite du concours national de design. Le futur Monument national de l’Holocauste sera, pour les Canadiens et les visiteurs dans la région de la capitale du Canada, un symbole durable de l’Holocauste, des tristes souvenirs qu’il rappelle et des répercussions que l’événement a eues sur notre histoire. »

- Shelly Glover, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles

« Nous nous rapprochons encore plus du moment où nous confirmerons le nom de l’équipe qui contribuera à l’édification du nouveau Monument national de l’Holocauste. Ce projet de commémoration favorisera une meilleure compréhension des événements historiques de l’Holocauste et de la façon dont ils ont influé sur l’histoire du Canada, compréhension qui profitera aux Canadiens de chaque localité du pays. »

- John Baird, ministre des Affaires étrangères

Produits connexes

Monument national de l’Holocauste – Six finalistes invités à élaborer leur concept

Liens connexes

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada – Monument national de l’Holocauste

Conseil d’édification du Monument national de l’Holocauste

Restez branchés

 

Contacts pour les médias

Marisa Monnin
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles
819-997-7788
marisa.monnin@pch.gc.ca

Relations avec les médias
Patrimoine canadien
819-994-9101
1-866-569-6155
media@pch.gc.ca