Your Visit to Canada’s Capital

Our curriculum-rich pre-visit resource is exactly what you need to get your students excited about their upcoming visit to Ottawa. It will help them make the connection between what they have learned in the classroom and what they will see in person.

Your students will enjoy doing one or all of these activities, and you’ll find them easy to integrate into the classroom. They address multiple learning styles, include suggestions for extension activities and can be easily adapted for higher or lower grade levels. We’ve included everything you need!

Target Grades

  • Grade 7 and 8
  • In Quebec: Secondary 1 and 2

Curriculum, By Activity

Capital Ad Agency

[Zip format, 4 MB]

Channel your inner advertising executive! Students will create an interactive and media-rich “poster” advertising Canada’s Capital Region and its amazing variety of attractions, events and activities. The poster, created using Glogster.com, will be designed to appeal to a particular audience.

  • Ontario Curriculum: Language (Grade 7 and 8)
  • Quebec Curriculum: English Language Arts (Secondary Cycle 1)

Digging Deeper

[Zip format, 2.7 MB]

Which site on your itinerary are you really excited to see? Before their visit, students choose the site that interests them most. They dig a little deeper to uncover trivia and fun facts, and then share their new knowledge with their classmates. After their visit, they write about their experience in a blog entry — they can even use photos from their trip!

  • Ontario Curriculum: Social Studies (Grades 5, 6, 7 and 8)
  • Quebec Curriculum:
    • English Language Arts (Secondary Cycle 1)
    • Français, langue d’enseignement (Secondary Cycle 1)

A Capital Timeline

[Zip format, 13.7MB]

What would life have been like in the Capital a century ago or more? Students will use online software to create an interactive timeline that traces the evolution of a Capital location. They will examine the location’s history from its origins to the present day through:

  • historical photographs,
  • key people,
  • important events, and
  • different elements of daily life.

Through the exercise students will explore how the site has had an impact on Canada’s Capital and helped to make it what it is today.

  • Ontario Curriculum:
    • History (Grade 7 and 8)
    • Geography (Grade 7 and 8)
  • Quebec Curriculum:
    • History and Citizenship Education (Secondary Cycle 1)
    • English Language Arts (Secondary Cycle 1)

Votre visite de la capitale du Canada

Notre ressource de prévisite largement inspirée du programme d’études est exactement ce dont vous avez besoin pour susciter l’enthousiasme de vos élèves à l’égard de leur prochaine visite à Ottawa. Elle les aidera aussi à faire le lien entre ce qu’ils ont appris en classe et ce qu’ils verront sur place.

Vos élèves auront du plaisir à faire une ou plusieurs de ces activités, et il vous sera facile de les intégrer dans votre enseignement. Elles conviennent à plusieurs styles d’apprentissage, comprennent des suggestions d’activités connexes et peuvent aisément s’adapter à des niveaux scolaires inférieurs ou supérieurs. Nous avons tout prévu!

Niveaux cibles

  • 7e et 8e année
  • Au Québec : 1re et 2e secondaire

Programme d’études, par activité

Agence publicitaire de la capitale

[format zip, 2.8 Mo]

Laissez s’exprimer le directeur publicitaire en vous! Les élèves créeront une « affiche » interactive qui intègre plusieurs supports d’information pour annoncer la région de la capitale du Canada et son extraordinaire variété d’attractions et d’activités. L’affiche, créée à l’aide de Glogster.com (en anglais seulement), sera conçue pour plaire à un public cible particulier.

  • Programme d’études de l’Ontario : Langue (7e et 8e année)
  • Programme d’études du Québec :
    • Français, langue d’enseignement
    • (1er cycle du secondaire)

Approfondir le sujet

[format zip, 3.3 Mo]

Lequel des endroits de votre itinéraire avez-vous très hâte de voir? Avant leur visite, les élèves choisissent le lieu qui les intéresse le plus. Ils approfondissent un peu plus ce sujet pour découvrir des anecdotes sur ce lieu et transmettent leurs connaissances nouvellement acquises aux autres élèves. Après leur visite, ils rendent compte de l’expérience qu’ils ont vécue dans une entrée de blogue. Ils peuvent même y ajouter des photos de leur sortie de classe!

  • Programme d’études de l’Ontario : Études sociales (5e, 6e, 7e et 8e année)
  • Programme d’études du Québec : Français, langue d’enseignement (1er cycle du secondaire)

La ligne du temps de la capitale

[format zip, 14.1 Mo]

Comment aurait-on vécu dans la capitale il y a un siècle ou même avant? Les élèves se serviront d’un logiciel en ligne pour créer une ligne du temps interactive qui retrace l’évolution d’un lieu de la capitale. Ils apprendront l’histoire du lieu, de ses origines à nos jours :

  • en regardant des photos d’époque;
  • en s’intéressant à des personnages historiques;
  • en s’informant sur d’importants évènements;
  • en découvrant des éléments du quotidien.

En faisant cet exercice, ils exploreront l’influence de ce lieu sur la capitale et son devenir.

  • Programme d’études de l’Ontario :
    • Histoire (7e et 8e année)
    • Géographie (7e et 8e année)
  • Programme d’études du Québec : Histoire et éducation à la citoyenneté (1er cycle du secondaire)